Spring 2006 Research Orientation Sessions

Research Orientation Sessions Archive

All students, faculty and research staff are invited. For first year PhD students, attendance is mandatory.

Date Presenter(s) Topic Room
Fri. Jan. 20, 1:00 p.m. Yevgeniy Dodis Introduction to the Cryptography group at NYU 102 WWH
Fri. Jan. 27, 2:30 p.m. Richard Bonneau Computational Biology 102 WWH
Tue. Feb. 7, 12:00 noon Christoph Bregler Motion Capture and Vision for Animation, Games, and HCI 1221 719 Bway
Davi Geiger Handwritting Recognition
Denis Zorin Geometric Modeling and Scientific Computing
Tue. Feb. 14, 12:00 noon Ernest Davis Commonsense Physical Reasoning 1221 719 Bway
Arthur Goldberg Duplicate Data Detection and Merging
Dennis Shasha Fun with Large Data>
Fri. Mar. 3, 2:30 p.m. Yann LeCun, Mehryar Mohri Machine Learning 102 WWH
Fri. Mar. 10, 2:30 p.m. Marsha Berger Fluid Dynamics and Computational Geometry 102 WWH
Michael Overton Convex and Nonconvex Optimization
Tue. Mar. 21, 12:00 noon Bhubaneswar (Bud) Mishra Dude, Where is My Genome?
Designing Next Generation DNA Readers
10 floor lab 719 Bway
Fri. Mar. 24, 2:30 p.m. Clark Barrett Design and Application of Verification Engines 102 WWH
Benjamin Goldberg Validating Optimizing Compilers
Amir Pnueli Challenges in Verification
Fri. Mar. 31, 2:30 p.m. Ralph Grishman, Dan Melamed, & Satoshi Sekine Natural Language Processing at NYU: the Proteus Project 102 WWH
Fri. Apr. 7, 2:30 p.m. Richard Cole Computational game theory and market equilibria 102 WWH
Chee Yap On the Importance of Knowing Zero
Fri. Apr. 14, 2:30 Robert Grimm On Systems and Languages: Challenges in a Peer-to-Peer Content Distribution System and an Extensible Compiler 102 WWH
Fri. Apr. 21, 2:30 p.m. Kenneth Perlin Computer Graphics 102 WWH
Fri. Apr. 28, 2:30 p.m. Olof Widlund Domain Decomposition Algorithms:
Mathematical Analysis and Parallel Computing
102 WWH
Margaret Wright Linear and Nonlinear Optimization

top | contact webmaster@cs.nyu.edu