Lakshminarayanan Subramanian

Computer Science Department
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences

I am fortunate to work with several awesome students:

  1. Yan Shvartzshnaider (postdoc, joint with Princeton CITP)
  2. Talal Ahmad (PhD)
  3. Ananth Balashankar (PhD)
  4. Shiva Iyer (PhD)
  5. Mukund Sudarshan (PhD)
  6. Ulzee An (MS)

PhD Alumni

  1. Jay Chen,PhD (Assistant Professor, NYU Abu Dhabi)
    Thesis: Rearchitecting Web and Mobile Information Access in Emerging Regions, 2011. Winner of Janet Fabri Prize (best CS dissertation in NYU). Nominated for ACM Dissertation Award.
  2. Nguyen Tran, PhD (Google) (co-advised with Jinyang Li)
    Thesis: Sybil Resilient Distributed Systems, 2011. Winner of Google PhD Fellowship.
  3. Nektarios Paisios, PhD (Google)
    Thesis: Mobile Accessibility Tools for Visually Impaired Users, 2012. Winner of Google Limewire Fellowship.
  4. Ashlesh Sharma, PhD (Entrupy Inc)
    Thesis: Security Mechanisms for Physical Authentication, 2013. Co-Founder of Entrupy Inc. (rated as 4 startups to watch out for by Forbes)
  5. Michael Paik, PhD (Visiting Asst Prof, NYUAD -> MongoDB)
    Thesis: Usable Security Mechanisms for the Developing World, 2013.
  6. Matt Tierney, PhD (Google)
    Thesis: Rethinking Information Privacy for the Web, 2013.
  7. Sunandan Chakraborty (Moore Sloan Postdoc, CDS@NYU -> Assistant Professor, Indiana/Purdue University)
    Thesis: Big Data Analytics for Development, 2015. Winner of 2015 Janet Fabri Prize (best CS dissertation in NYU).
  8. Ashwin Venkataraman (Postdoc, Harvard Business School) (co-advised with Prof. Srikanth Jagabathula, NYU Stern)
    Thesis: Rethinking Customer Segmentation and Demand Learning in the Presence of Sparse, Diverse, and Large-scale Data. (Winner of Jacob Shwartz Award, Dean's Dissertation Fellowship).

I have also closely worked with the following PhD students:

  1. Aditya Dhananjay (advised by Jinyang Li and Sundeep Rangan, Co-Founder of MilliLabs)
  2. Sherman Chow (advised by Yevgeniy Dodis and Victor Shoup, Assistant Professor at CUHK)
  3. Rabin Patra (advised by Prof. Eric Brewer, Co-Founder of Tarana Wireless Inc)
  4. Sergiu Nedevschi (advised by Prof. Eric Brewer, Co-Founder of Tarana Wireless Inc)
  5. Sonesh Surana (advised by Prof. Eric Brewer, co-founded startup -> Solar Semiconductor)
  6. Matthew Caesar (advised by Prof. Randy Katz, assistant professor at UIUC)
  7. Jayanth Kannan (advised by Prof. Ion Stoica, Google)
  8. Yong Xia (advised by Prof. Shivkumar Kalyanaraman, now at NEC Labs, China)

Postdoc Alumni

  1. Dr. Yasir Zaki (co-advised with Jay Chen) (Assistant Professor at NYU Abu Dhabi)
  2. Dr. Shankar Kaylanaraman (Data Scientist at Facebook).
  3. Dr. Esther Ezra (Assistant Professor at Georgia Tech).
  4. Dr. Vincent Toubiana (co-advised with Helen Nissenbaum) (Lucent Labs -> DPA France).
  5. Dr. Fatima Zarinni (worked with the Google networking team)

Awards and Honors of PhD and MS Students

  1. Jay Chen (Janet Fabri Prize, 2011)
  2. Sunandan Chakraborty (Janet Fabri Prize, 2015)
  3. Ashwin Venkataraman (Jacob Schwartz Award, Dean's Dissertation Fellowship)
  4. Talal Ahmad (Jacob Schwartz Award)
  5. Nguyen Tran (Google PhD Fellowship) (co-advised with Jinyang Li)
  6. Ashlesh Sharma (Co-Founder, Entrupy Inc)
  7. Nektarios Paisios (Google Limewire Fellowship)
  8. Sunandan Chakraborty (Harold Grad Memorial Prize (outstanding graduate student))
  9. Aditya Dhananjay (Harold Grad Memorial Prize (outstanding graduate student), SIGCOMM 2011 best demo) (co-advised with Jinyang Li)
  10. Michael Paik (ICTD 2009 Honorable mention, SOSP NSDR 2009 top papers)
  11. Matthew Tierney (NSF IGERT Fellowship) (co-advised with Jinyang Li)
  12. Nahaneli Schelling, Meredith Hasson, Ariel Nevarez (Co-Founders, Simbalink LLC)
  13. Brendan Linn (Mathew Smosna Prize for MS student academic achievement award)

MS and Undergraduate Alumni

  1. Kate Boxer, MS (Columbia -> MDRC)
  2. Rishabh Ranawat, BS (Goldman Sachs)
  3. Varun Chandrasekaran, MS (PhD Student at Wisconsin-Madison)
  4. Christopher Rohlfs, MS (VP at Morgan Stanley, PhD student at Columbia University)
  5. Crystal Butler, MS (PhD student at NYU Tandon)
  6. Fahad Pervaiz, LUMS (jointly advised with Dr. Umar Saif) (PhD student at University of Washington)
  7. Nabeel Abdul Rehman, LUMS (jointly advised with Dr. Umar Saif) (PhD student at NYU Tandon)
  8. Talal Ahmad, LUMS (jointly advised with Dr. Umar Saif) (PhD student in NYU)
  9. Maaz Bin Safeer Ahmad, LUMS (jointly advised with Dr. Umar Saif) (PhD Student at University of Washington)
  10. Nathan Silberman, MS (PhD student at NYU with Prof. Rob Fergus)
  11. Trishank Karthik, MS (Rich Bonneau Lab -> Biodigital Solutions -> PhD student at NYU with Prof. Justin Cappos)
  12. Renfei Zou, MS (Facebook)
  13. Ruchi Tandon, MS (Google)
  14. David Iserovich, BS (Ad-tech company)
  15. Sam Royston, MS (Ad-tech company)
  16. Wei-Chih Lu, MS NYU-Poly (startup in Taiwan)
  17. Saurabh Kumar, MS (Microsoft)
  18. Brendan Linn, MS (Lionside ->NGMoco)
  19. Arvind Kumar, MS (VMWare)
  20. Amey Purandare, MS (Bloomberg)
  21. Faiz Kazi, MS (startup in Japan)
  22. Rachid Ennaji , MS(Amazon)
  23. Sindhura Chava, MS (Barclays Capital)
  24. Nahanaeli Schelling (NYU ITP) (Simbalink)
  25. Meredith Hasson(NYU ITP) (Simbalink)
  26. Ariel Nevarez (NYU ITP) (Simbalink)