FOM: LICS symposium call for papers

Stephen G Simpson simpson at
Thu Dec 6 12:33:07 EST 2001

		  Seventeenth Annual IEEE Symposium on
	      July 22nd - 25th, 2002, Copenhagen, Denmark


 The LICS Symposium is an annual international forum on theoretical and
 practical topics in computer science that relate to logic in a broad
 sense. LICS 2002 will be part of the 2002 Federated Logic Conference
 (FLoC 2002), to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark, July 20th - August
 1st, 2002.

 Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions
 include: automata theory, automated deduction, categorical models and
 logics, concurrency and distributed computation, constraint
 programming, constructive mathematics, database theory, domain theory,
 finite model theory, formal aspects of program analysis, formal
 methods, hybrid systems, lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic,
 logical aspects of computational complexity, logics in artificial
 intelligence, logics of programs, logic programming, modal and
 temporal logics, model checking, programming language semantics,
 reasoning about security, rewriting, specifications, type systems and
 type theory, and verification.

 Paper submission will be electronic. The deadline for submissions is

			    January 15th, 2002. 

 This deadline is firm; late submissions will not be considered. The
 URL for electronic paper submission is

 Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by March 22nd,
 2002; accepted papers in a specified format for the proceedings will
 be due by May 1st, 2002.

 The first page of the extended abstract should include the title of
 the paper, names and affiliations of authors, a brief synopsis, and
 the contact author's name, address, phone number, fax number, and
 email address. The extended abstract may not exceed 5000 words,
 excluding bibliography and figures. It must be in English and provide
 sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits
 of the paper. It should begin with a succinct statement of the issues,
 a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their
 significance and relevance to the conference, all phrased for the
 non-specialist. Technical development directed to the specialist
 should follow. If a result is surprising, then the subtleties should
 be explained. (If necessary, details can be included in a
 clearly-labelled appendix or there can be a pointer to a manuscript on
 a web site.)  References and comparisons with related work should be
 included. Submissions departing significantly from these guidelines
 risk rejection.

 The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication
 elsewhere, including the proceedings of other symposia or
 workshops. The PC chair should be informed of closely related work
 submitted to a conference or journal between January 15th, 2002 and
 March 22nd, 2002. All authors of accepted papers will be expected to
 sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted paper will
 be expected to present it at the conference.

 LICS 2002 will have a session of short (5-10 minutes)
 presentations. This session is intended for descriptions of work in
 progress, student projects, and relevant research being published
 elsewhere; other brief communications may be acceptable. Submissions
 for these presentations, in the form of short abstracts (1 or 2 pages
 long), should be entered at the LICS submission site between March
 25th and March 29th, 2002. Authors will be notified of acceptance or
 rejection by April 12th, 2002

 The symposium is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on
 Mathematical Foundations of Computing in cooperation with the
 Association for Symbolic Logic, and the European Association for
 Theoretical Computer Science.

 Kleene Award for Best Student Paper: An award in honor of the late
 S.C. Kleene will be given for the best student paper, as judged by the
 program committee. For a paper to be eligible the research presented
 must have been carried out while at least one of the authors was a
 full-time student. Multiple-authored papers are permitted. The exact
 circumstances, including allocation of credit, should be detailed in
 the submission letter, SIGNED BY ALL AUTHORS. The program committee
 may decline to make the award or may split it among several papers.

 Invited Speakers: The following distinguished speakers have agreed to
 give invited talks at LICS 2002: Stephen Cook (University of Toronto),
 Georg Gottlob (TU Wien), John Reynolds (Carnegie Mellon), Natarajan
 Shankar (SRI). Maurizio Lenzerini (Universita di Roma "La Sapienza")
 will give an invited tutorial on Description Logics.

 Collocated events: The following conferences are collocated with LICS
 at FLoC 2002: CADE, CAV, FME, ICLP, RTA, TABLEAUX; see for details. There will also be many workshops
 sponsored by the FLoC conferences. For the LICS ones, see for details as they are

 Program Chair:
      Gordon Plotkin
      Division of Informatics
      The University of Edinburgh 
      James Clerk Maxwell Building 
      Mayfield Road 
      Edinburgh EH9 3JZ
      United Kingdom
      Email: gdp at
      Phone: + 44 131 650 5158
      Fax:   + 44 131 667 7209

 Program Committee:
      Marco Cadoli, Universita di Roma "La Sapienza"
      Vincent Danos, CNRS, Universite Paris VII
      Anuj Dawar, University of Cambridge
      Rocco De Nicola, Universita degli Studi di Firenze
      Harald Ganzinger, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Informatik
      Orna Grumberg, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
      Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University
      Furio Honsell, University of Udine
      Phokion Kolaitis, University of California at Santa Cruz
      Johann Makowski, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
      Oded Maler, CNRS-Verimag
      Yoram Moses, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
      Robert Nieuwenhuis, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) 
      Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary & Westfield College, University of London
      Doron A. Peled, Bell Laboratories
      Benjamin C. Pierce, University of Pennsylvania 
      Andrew Pitts, University of Cambridge
      Gordon Plotkin (chair), University of Edinburgh
      Andreas Podelski, Max-Planck-Institut fuer Informatik
      Andre Scedrov, University of Pennsylvania 
      Peter Thiemann, Universitaet Freiburg
      Andrei Voronkov, University of Manchester 

 Local Arrangements Chair:
      Ulrich Kohlenbach
      Department of Computer Science, BRICS 
      University of Aarhus 
      Ny Munkegade, Building 540
      DK-8000 Aarhus C 
      Email: kohlenb at 

 Publicity Chair:
      Martin Grohe
      Division of Informatics 
      The University of Edinburgh
      James Clerk Maxwell Building 
      Mayfield Road
      Edinburgh EH9 3JZ
      United Kingdom
      Email: grohe at

 General Chair:
      Samson Abramsky
      Oxford University Computing Laboratory
      Wolfson Building
      Parks Road
      Oxford, OX1 3QD
      Email: Samson.Abramsky at

 Organizing Committee: 
      M. Abadi, S. Abramsky (chair), A. Aggarwal, M. Bezem, E. Clarke,
      R. Constable, N. Dershowitz, J. Diaz, H. Ganzinger,
      F. Giunchiglia, M. Grohe, J.  Halpern, D. Leivant, L. Libkin,
      G. Longo, D. A. Martin, J. Mitchell, E. Moggi, V. Pratt,
      S. Ronchi della Rocca, J. Tiuryn, M.Y. Vardi, J. Vitter,
      G. Winskel.

 Advisory Board:
      M. Abadi, S. Abiteboul, S. Abramsky, M. Dezani, J. Halpern,
      R. Impagliazzo, D. Kozen, L. Pacholski, A. Scedrov, D. Scott,
      J. Wing.

More information about the FOM mailing list