Faculty Recognition

Major Awards

Academy Membership

  • Academia Europaea (Informatics Section): Patrick Cousot (2006)
  • American Academy of Arts & Science: Marsha Berger, Margaret Wright
  • European Academy of Sciences: Zvi Kedem
  • London Mathematical Society, Honorary Member: Margaret Wright (2013)
  • National Academy of Engineering: Marsha Berger (2005), Margaret Wright
  • National Academy of Science: Marsha Berger, Margaret Wright (2005)

Awards for Research and Education

  • ACM Distinguished Scientist: Clark Barrett (2014)
  • Bell Labs Fellow: Margaret Wright (1999)
  • CNRS Silver Medal (Centre national de la recherche scientifique): Patrick Cousot
  • EADS Foundation Award: Patrick Cousot (2006)
  • IBM Faculty Award: Richard Cole (1984), Yevgeniy Dodis (2005), Lakshminarayanan Subramanian (2009, 2010), Denis Zorin (2001, 2002, 2004)
  • IEEE CIS Neural Networks Pioneer Award: Yann LeCun (2014)
  • IEEE Computer Society Harlan D. Mills Award: Patrick Cousot (2014)
  • IEEE VGTC Visualization Technical Achievement Award: Claudio Silva (2014)
  • IEEE William E. Sayle II Award for Achievement in Education: Theodore Rappaport (2012)
  • NSF Presidential Faculty Fellowship: Theodore Rappaport (1992)
  • Ordre des Palmes Academiques, Chevalier: Patrick Cousot
  • Ordre National du Mérite: Patrick Cousot
  • SIGGRAPH Achievement Award: Kenneth Perlin (2008)
  • SIGPLAN Achievement Award: Patrick Cousot (2013)
  • Simons Foundation Investigator: Subhash Khot (2015)
  • TrapCode Award for Achievement in Computer Graphics Research: Kenneth Perlin (2007)

Awards for Scientific Papers

  • ACM Gordon Bell Prize for Outstanding Achievement in High -Performance Computing: Denis Zorin (2010)
  • ACM Symposium on Solid and Physical Modeling, Best Paper Award: Denis Zorin (2006)
  • Computer Aided Geometric Design, Most cited paper award: Denis Zorin (2010)
  • Distributed Event-Based Systems, Best Paper Prize: Robert Grimm (2012)
  • Eurocrypt, Best Paper Award: Oded Regev (2006)
  • Eurographics/ACM Symposium on Geometry Processing, Best Paper Award (First Place): Denis Zorin (2010)
  • IBM Pat Goldberg Memorial Best Paper Prize: Subhash Khot (2005)
  • IEEE Computer Society Best Paper Award: Zvi Kedem (1995)
  • IEEE Donald G. Fink Award: Theodore Rappaport (2015)
  • IEEE Longuet-Higgins Prize: Rob Fergus (2013)
  • International Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming, Best Contributor: Yevgeniy Dodis (1999)
  • International Workshop on Practice and Theory in Public Key Cryptography, Best Paper: Yevgeniy Dodis (2005)
  • Lester Ford Award (Mathematical Association of America): Joel Spencer (1984), Chee Yap (2009)
  • NSDI Best Paper Award (Networked Systems Design and Implementation): Lakshminarayanan Subramanian (2004)
  • OOPSLA Best Paper Award (Object Oriented Programming, Systems, Languages and Applications): Thomas Wies (2014)
  • SIAM Outstanding Paper: Subhash Khot (2008)
  • SIGCHI, Best Paper Award: Kenneth Perlin (2012)
  • STOC, Best Paper Award: Oded Regev (2003)
  • Supercomputing, Best Paper Award: Marsha Berger (2005)

Awards for Software Contributions

  • German Computer Science Society Innovation Prize: Victor Shoup (2009)
  • IBM Software Quality Innovation Award: Clark Barrett (2008)
  • IEEE Fernbach Award: Marsha Berger (2004)

New York City and State Recognition

  • Blavatnik Award Finalist: Denis Zorin
  • Distinguished Science Advisor, New York Hall of Science: Dennis Shasha (2009)
  • New York City Mayor's Award for Excellence in Science and Technology: Kenneth Perlin
  • NYSTAR Distinguished Professor Award: Bhubaneswar Mishra (2001)

NSF CAREER and Presidential Young Investigator Awards

  • Award Recipients: Clark Barrett, Marsha Berger, Yevgeniy Dodis, Rob Fergus, Davi Geiger, Robert Grimm, Subhash Khot, Jinyang Li, Kenneth Perlin, David Sontag, Lakshminarayanan Subramanian, Thomas Wies, Denis Zorin

NYU Recognition

  • Iakobachvili Faculty Science Award: Richard Bonneau (2015)
  • Margaret and Herman Sokol Faculty Award in the Sciences: Marsha Berger (2000), Kenneth Perlin (2002)
  • NYU CAS Golden Dozen Teaching Award: Deena Engel (2006), Benjamin Goldberg (1992)
  • NYU CAS Outstanding Teaching Award: Deena Engel (2001), Nathan Hull (1994, 1999), Craig Kapp (2013)
  • NYU Center for Teaching Excellence, Junior Fellow: Robert Grimm (2005-2006)
  • Samuel L. Marateck Prize for Outstanding Teaching in Computer Science: Deena Engel (2014)
  • Silver Professorships: Marsha Berger, Richard Cole, Patrick Cousot, Yann LeCun, Margaret Wright

Recognition for Young Scientists

  • C.V. Ramamoorthy Award: Lakshminarayanan Subramanian (2005)
  • Discover Magazine: Top 20 Scientists Under 40: Richard Bonneau (2008)
  • Krill Prize for Excellence in Scientific Research: Oded Regev (2005)
  • Microsoft New Faculty Fellowship: Subhash Khot (2005)
  • Sloan Foundation Fellowships: Rob Fergus, Subhash Khot, Jinyang Li, Joel Spencer, Denis Zorin

Service to the Scientific Community

  • Award for Distinguished Public Service, American Mathematical Society: Margaret Wright (2001)
  • Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award: Zvi Kedem (2013)
  • Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics: Margaret Wright (President, 1995-1996)

Society Fellows

  • ACM Fellows: Richard Cole (1998), Juliana Freire (2014), Allan Gottlieb (2004), Zvi Kedem (1997), Bhubaneswar Mishra (2007), Dennis Shasha (2013)
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow: Bhubaneswar Mishra (2010)
  • American Cancer Society, James Jay Fisher Fellowship: Richard Bonneau (1996)
  • American Mathematical Society Fellows: Joel Spencer (2012), Margaret Wright (2012)
  • IEEE Fellows: Zvi Kedem (2007), Bhubaneswar Mishra (2009), Theodore Rappaport (1998)
  • IMA (UK) Fellow: Michael Overton
  • INFORMS Fellow: Margaret Wright (2002)
  • SIAM Fellows: Marsha Berger (2009), Michael Overton (2009), Margaret Wright (2009)

top | contact webmaster