[FOM] EBL 2019 - call for papers

Bruno Lopes blopesvieira at gmail.com
Tue Oct 2 08:42:10 EDT 2018

[call for papers – please post]

The 19th Brazilian Logic Conference (EBL 2019)
May 6-10, 2019, João Pessoa-PB, Brazil


Important Dates
Submission Deadline: Jan 5, 2019
Acceptance Notification: Feb 4, 2019
Brazilian Logic Conference: May 6-10, 2019
Logic School: May 6-10, 2019

The 19th Brazilian Logic Conference
The Brazilian Logic Conferences (EBL) is a traditional event of the
Brazilian Logic Society (SBL). It has been occurring since 1979.
Congregating logicians of different fields and with different
backgrounds -- from undergraduate students to senior researchers -- the
meeting is an important moment for the Brazilian and South-American
logical community to join together and discuss recent developments of
the field. The areas of Logic covered spread over Foundations and
Philosophy of Science, Analytic Philosophy, Mathematics, Computer
Science, Informatics, Linguistics and Artificial Intelligence.

Previous editions of the EBL have attracted researchers from all over
Latin America and elsewhere. In 2019, the EBL will be held at João
Pessoa, capital of the state of Paraíba, a charming and beautiful town
on the Brazilian north-east coast.

Call for Papers
The goal of the EBL meeting is to encourage the dissemination and
discussion of research papers in Logic in a broad sense. We cordially
invite submissions of contributed papers on general topics of Logic,
including, but not restricted to the following:

     Philosophical and Mathematical Logic and Applications;
     History and Philosophy of Logic;
     Non-classical Logic and Applications;
     Philosophy of Formal Sciences;
     Foundations of Computer Science, Physics and Mathematics;
     Logic Education (Logic Teaching).

This edition of the EBL particularly welcomes abstracts on Logic
Teaching so as to stimulate the development of methods and strategies
of teaching and learning Logic.

The presentation of contributed papers in the event must fit a slot of
20 minutes of exposition plus 10 minutes of questions and discussion.
Abstracts should be written in Portuguese, Spanish or English with a
maximum of 600 words and it must contain title, name, keywords,
affiliation and essential bibliography. For more details, see

Notification of acceptance will be released on Feb 4, 2019. At least one
author of each accepted paper must register for presenting the paper at
the meeting. Each given participant may co-author more than one paper,
but will only be allowed to present a single talk. The Scientific
Committee will consider the following items when selecting the papers:
relevance and importance of the topic, originality and quality of work.

Call for Round Tables
The EBL 2019 is happy to host round table proposals with a duration of
at most two hours. They may be divided as desired, with a maximum of 4
and a minimum of 3 participants per session. The description and the
title for the session should be of a maximum of 1500 words containing an
abstract for each exposition including title, name, keywords,
affiliation and bibliography. Each session must have a coordinating
chair assigned in the proposal. For more details on submissions of round
table proposals, see https://ebl2019.ci.ufpb.br/blog/call-for-papers.

The EBL 2019 also aims to be a forum for presenting and discussing work
in progress and therefore to provide feedback for authors on their
preliminary research. Peer-reviewed papers will be published after the
meeting, so that authors can incorporate the feedback received, in a
book and/or a special issue of a journal with publishers of
international recognition.

Keynote speakers (already confirmed)
Catarina Dutilh-Novaes (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Edward Zalta (Stanford)
Elaine Pimentel (UFRN)
Frank Sautter (UFSM)
Luis Soares Barbosa (Universidade do Minho)
Mario Benevides (UFRJ)
Mirna Dzamonja (University of East Anglia)

Scientific Committee
Alexandre Rademaker (IBM Research)
Bruno Lopes Vieira (UFF)
Carlos Olarte (UFRN)
Ciro Russo (UFBA)
Cláudia Nalon (UnB)
Daniele Nantes Sobrinho (UnB)
Edward Hermann Haeusler (PUC-Rio)
Gisele Secco (UFSM)
Ítala Maria Loffredo D'Ottaviano (Unicamp)
João Marcos de Almeida (UFRN)
Jorge Petrúcio Viana (UFF)
Leandro Oliva Suguitani (UFBA)
Luiz Carlos Pereira (PUC-Rio/UERJ)
Marcelo Finger (USP)
Maurício Ayala-Rincón (UnB)
Nastassja Pugliese (USP)
Renata Wassermann (USP)
Newton C. A. da Costa (UFSC)
Valeria de Paiva (Nuance Communications)
Walter Carnielli (Unicamp)

Organizing Committee

Ricardo Sousa Silvestre (UFCG, co-chair)
Ana Thereza Maier (UFPB, co-chair))
Garibaldi Sarmento (UFPB, co-chair)
Cezar A. Mortari (UFSC)
Samuel Gomes da Silva (UFBA)
Lucídio Cabral (UFPB)
Wagner Sanz (UFG)
Tiago Massoni (UFCG)
Bruno Petrato Bruck (UFPB)
Teobaldo Leite Bulhões Júnior (UFPB)
Andrei de Araujo Formiga (UFPB)

Logic School
There will be a Logic School during the conference; speakers and
subjects to be announced.

The 19th Brazilian Logic Conference is organized by Universidade Federal
de Campina Grande (UFCG), Universidade Federal da Paraíba (UFPB) and
Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica (SBL).

For more information please contact the Organizing Committee at
EBL2019contact at gmail.com.

Official site: http://ebl2019.ci.ufpb.br/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: </pipermail/fom/attachments/20181002/817a4f94/attachment.html>

More information about the FOM mailing list