[FOM] Fwd: Request

Martin Davis martin at eipye.com
Thu Jan 19 16:57:52 EST 2017

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Gordon Plotkin <gordon.plotkin at gmail.com>
Date: Thu, Jan 19, 2017 at 1:44 PM

Subject: Alonzo Church Award 2017: Call for Nominations


An annual award, called the

         Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and

was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and
Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for Theoretical Computer
Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer Science Logic
(EACSL), and the Kurt Gödel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding
contribution represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published
within the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and
depth of the contribution to have been established. The award can be given
to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated on the
research. For the rules governing this award, see:


The 2016 Alonzo Church Award was given to Rajeev Alur and David Dill for their
invention of timed automata, see:

*Eligibility and Nominations*

The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within the
past 25 years. Thus, for the 2017 award, the cut-off date is January 1, 1992.
When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the date
of the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In addition,
the contribution must not yet have received recognition via a  major award,
such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the Gödel Prize. (The
nominee(s) may have received such awards for other
contributions.) While the contribution can consist of conference or
journal papers,
journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2017 award are now being solicited. The nominating letter
must summarise the contribution and make the case that it is fundamental
and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple co-signers.
Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a proposed
citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description of the
contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to justify
the nomination. Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting
letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations are due by *March 1, 2017* and should be submitted to
gdp at inf.ed.ac.uk.

*Presentation of the Award*

The 2017 award will be presented at the CSL conference, the annual meeting of
the European Association for Computer Science Logic. The award will be
by an invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of the award winners.
The awardee(s) will receive a certificate and a cash prize
of USD 2,000. If there are multiple awardees, this amount will be shared.

*Award Committee*

The 2017 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following four members:
Natarajan Shankar, Catuscia Palamidessi, Gordon Plotkin (chair), and Moshe
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: </pipermail/fom/attachments/20170119/1ff1df1b/attachment.html>

More information about the FOM mailing list