[FOM] Call for Papers: Seventh French Philosophy of Mathematics Workshop (FPMW 7)

Andrew Arana andrew.arana at gmail.com
Tue May 5 03:33:37 EDT 2015

Seventh French Philosophy of Mathematics Workshop (FPMW 7)

Thursday, November 5, 2015 - Saturday, November 7, 2015
Organization: Groupe de Recherche du CNRS en Philosophie des Mathématiques
Location: Institut d'histoire et de philosophie des sciences et des techniques (IHPST), Paris, France

This workshop is the seventh in an annual series of workshops in philosophy of mathematics organized by a team of scholars from France and abroad. This is the first instance organized by the GdR in Philosophy of Mathematics (CNRS – INSHS). The program of last year's workshop is available at: http://www.math.univ-toulouse.fr/FPMW6/.

The forthcoming workshop will be held at the IHPST in Paris. It will consist, as the previous workshops, in a three-day meeting, and will feature both invited and contributed talks.

The confirmed invited speakers are: 

Alejandro Pérez Carballo (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), Brice Halimi (Université Paris Ouest), Ralf Krömer (Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Jean Petitot (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales), and Sean Walsh (University of California - Irvine).

Deadline for submission: June 15, 2015

Notification of acceptance: July 15, 2015

Submissions of papers in any topic of philosophy of mathematics are welcome. The languages of the workshop are French and English. Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are encouraged to submit, as the workshop will provide them with an opportunity to discuss their work with internationally renowned experts in the field.

Each submission should be no more than 15,000 characters, and formatted in Word, RTF or PDF. It should be sent to the following address: andrew (dot) arana (at) gmail (dot) com.

Each talk should be no longer than 45 minutes, and will be followed by a 30 minute discussion.

Scientific Committee: Andrew Arana, Mark van Atten, Denis Bonnay, Paola, Cantù, Gabriella Crocco, Michael Detlefsen, Jacques Dubucs, Viviane Durand-Guerrier, Henri Galinon, Sebastien Gandon, Brice Halimi, Gerhard Heinzmann, Paolo Mancosu, Sébastien Maronne, Joël Merker, Philippe Nabonnand, Jean-Baptiste Joinet, Vincent Jullien, Marco Panza, Fabrice Pataut, Fréderic Patras, Dominique Pradelle, David Rabouin, Shahid Rahman, Andrei Rodin, Stewart Shapiro, Ivahn Smadja, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz, Claudine Tiercelin, Sean Walsh.

Organizing Committee: Andrew Arana, Alberto Naibo, Marco Panza, David Rabouin, Ivahn Smadja, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz (director of the GdR), Pierre Wagner

More information about the FOM mailing list