[FOM] Machines, Computations and Universality 2013: Call for Participation

Turlough Neary tneary at ini.phys.ethz.ch
Mon Jul 29 13:07:31 EDT 2013

Machines, Computation and Universality (MCU) 2013 
Zurich, Switzerland, September 9-11

The early registration deadline for MCU 2013 is August 10, 2013.

Conference Program: http://mcu2013.ini.uzh.ch/Program.html

Registration: http://mcu2013.ini.uzh.ch/Registration.html


MCU explores computation in the setting of various discrete models
(Turing machines, register machines, cellular automata, tile assembly
systems, rewriting systems, neural models etc.) and analog and hybrid
models (BSS machines, infinite time cellular automata, real machines,
quantum computing etc.). There is particular (but not exclusive)
emphasis given towards the following:

1. the search for frontiers between decidability and undecidability in
the various models. (For example, what is the smallest number of pairs
of words for which the Post correspondence problem is undecidable, or
what is the largest state-symbol product for which the halting problem
is decidable for Turing machines?)

2. the search for the simplest universal models (such as small universal
Turing machines, universal rewriting systems with few rules, universal
cellular automata with small neighborhoods and a small number of states,

3. the computational complexity of predicting the evolution of
computations in the various models. (For example, is it possible to
predict an arbitrary number of time steps for a model more efficiently
than explicit step by step simulation of the model?)

4. universality and undecidability in continuous models of computation.


Early registration deadline: August 10, 2013
Conference: September 9-11, 2013


Andrew Adamatzky        (University of the West of England, UK)
Matthew Cook            (University of Zurich and ETH Zurich) (co-chair)
Erzsébet Csuhaj-Varjú   (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary)
Jérôme Durand-Lose      (University of Orléans, France)
Rudolf Freund           (University of Vienna, Austria)
Gabriel Istrate         (Institute e-Austria, Timisoara, Romania)
Jarkko Kari             (University of Turku, Finland)
Lila Kari               (University of Western Ontario, London, Canada)
Kamala Krithivasan      (Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai, India)
Maurice Margenstern     (University of Lorraine, France)
Turlough Neary          (University of Zurich and ETH Zurich) (co-chair)
Matthew Pattitz         (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, USA)
Igor Potapov            (University of Liverpool, UK)
Klaus Sutner            (Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA)
Sergey Verlan           (University of Paris Est, France)
Damien Woods            (California Institute of Technology, USA)


Liesbeth De Mol     (Ghent University, Belgium)
Jarkko Kari         (University of Turku, Finland)
Kenichi Morita      (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Erik Winfree        (California Institute of Technology, USA)
Damien Woods        (California Institute of Technology, USA)


Maurice Margenstern     (University of Lorraine, France) (chair)
Jérôme Durand-Lose      (University of Orléans, France) (vice-chair)
Erzsébet Csuhaj-Varjú   (Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary)
Natasha Jonoska         (University of South Florida, USA)
Kenichi Morita          (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Gheorghe Păun           (The Romanian Academy, Romania)
Arto Salomaa            (University of Turku, Finland)
K. G. Subramanian       (University of Science, Malaysia)

More information about the FOM mailing list