[FOM] FW: LOGIC COLLOQUIUM 2009 - Sofia, 31 July - 5 Aug, Second Announcement

Kreinovich, Vladik vladik at utep.edu
Wed Mar 18 14:44:10 EDT 2009


-----Original Message-----
From: Stela Nikolova [mailto:stenik at fmi.uni-sofia.bg] 

(Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this announcement)

                          Second Announcement
                         Logic Colloquium 2009
                        Sofia 31 July - 5 August

             Extended deadline for submissions: 30 April, 2009
          Extended deadline for grant applications: 15 April, 2009



•   Extended deadlines for grant applications and abstract submissions.

The ASL will make available modest travel awards to graduate students in logic and to recent PhD‘s to attend the 2009 ASL European Summer Meeting in Sofia, Bulgaria. The European Summer Meeting is also supported by a grant from the US National Science Foundation; NSF funds may be awarded only to students at USA universities and to citizens and permanent residents of the USA.
Applications and recommendations must be received before the deadline of April 15, 2009, by e-mail at lc2009 at fmi.uni-sofia.bg or by regular mail


Alexandra Soskova
Dept. of Math Logic
Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics
Sofia University
boul. James Bourchier 5
1164, Sofia

The Programme Committee cordially invites all researchers to submit contributed papers that have logic research content that lies within the scope of the interests of the ASL.

Submission Deadline:         30 April 2009
Notification of Authors:     15 May 2009

The abstracts of the contributed talks will be published in The Bulletin of Symbolic Logic if at least one of the authors is a member of ASL. The rules for abstract submission can be found at the conference webpage http://lc2009.fmi.uni-sofia.bg.

•   Confirmed special session speakers.
The following special session speakers have confirmed:

Logic and Category Theory: Steve Awodey, Andrej Bauer, Richard Blute.

Computability Theory: Serikzhan  Badaev, George Barmpalias, Denis Hirschfeldt,  Andrei Morozov.

Model Theory, New Directions in Classification Theory: Hans Adler, Yevgeniy Vasilyev, Antongiulio Fornasiero, Alf Onshuus.

Philosophical Logic: Philippe Balbiani, Roman Kontchakov, Istvan Nemeti, Frank Wolter.

Set Theory: Grigor Sargysan, Dima Sinapova,  Martin Zeman.

•   SATELLITE MEETING: Workshop on Computability Theory, Sofia, August 6-7.
The logic group at Sofia University is organizing an informal workshop on computability theory immediately after the end of the Logic Colloquium 2009. The workshop is planned as a series of lectures given by invited speakers. Everyone interested in computability theory is invited to extend their stay in Sofia by a couple of days and attend the workshop. There will be no additional registration fee. People intending to attend the workshop should notify the organizers per email:

Mariya Soskova at msoskova at gmail.com    or
Alexandra Soskova at lc2009 at fmi.uni-sofia.bg

General information on the Logic Colloquium

The Logic Colloquium is the annual European conference on logic, organised under the auspices of the Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL).
The main events in this year’s conference are as follows:
Gödel lecture:
•   Richard A. Shore (Cornell University)

•   Ulrich Kohlenbach (Technische Universität Darmstadt)
•   Andre Nies  (University of Auckland)
•   Ralf Schindler (Universität Münster)

Plenary talks:
•   Elisabeth Bouscaren  (Université Paris-Sud 11)
•   S. Barry Cooper (University of Leeds),
•   Thierry Coquand (University of Gothenburg),
•   Ilijas Farah (York University)
•   Valentina S. Harizanov (George Washington University)
•   Stephan Kreutzer (Oxford University)
•   David W. Kueker (University of Maryland)
•   Benjamin Miller
•   Itay Neeman (University of California Los Angeles)
•   Dana S. Scott (Carnegie Mellon University)
•   Katrin Tent (University of  Munster)
•   Jouko Väänänen (University of Amsterdam)

Special sessions:
•   Logic and Category Theory (Co-chairs: S. Abramsky, S. Shapiro)
•   Computability Theory (Co-chairs: K. Ambos-Spies, I. Soskov)
•   Model Theory, New Directions in Classification Theory (Co-chairs:
     E. Hrushovski, M. Otero)
•   Philosophical Logic (Co-chairs: D. Vakarelov, M. Zakharyashev)
•   Set Theory (Co-chairs: M. Goldstern,  H. Woodin)

Samson Abramsky, Klaus Ambos-Spies, Joan Bagaria (Chair), Fernando Ferreira, Martin Goldstern, Erich Graedel, Ehud Hrushovski, Tapani Hyttinen,  Yiannis Moschovakis, Margarita Otero, Stewart Shapiro, Ivan Soskov and  W. Hugh Woodin

Alexandra Soskova (Chair), Dimitar Dobrev, Dimitar Guelev, Lyubomir Ivanov, Stela Nikolova, Solomon Passy, Dimitar Shiyachki, Mariya Soskova, Mitko Yanchev, Anton Zinoviev


More information about the FOM mailing list