[FOM] 2nd CFP: LSFA2009

Joao Marcos botocudo at gmail.com
Fri Mar 6 06:19:23 EST 2009

Fourth Workshop on Logical and Semantic Frameworks, with Applications
28th June, 2009 - Brasília, Brazil

Call for Papers
Logical and semantic frameworks are formal languages used to represent
logics, languages and systems. These frameworks provide foundations for
formal specification of systems and programming languages, supporting tool
development and reasoning.

The objective of this one-day workshop is to put together theoreticians and
practitioners to promote new techniques and results, from the theoretical
side, and feedback on the implementation and use of such techniques and
results, from the practical side.

Topics of interest to this forum include, but are not limited to:

 a.. Logical frameworks
   a.. Proof theory
   b.. Type theory
   c.. Automated deduction
 b.. Semantic frameworks
   a.. Specification languages and meta-languages
   b.. Formal semantics of languages and systems
   c.. Computational and logical properties of semantic frameworks
   a.. Implementation of logical and/or semantic frameworks
 c.. Applications of logical and/or semantic frameworks
LSFA'09 also aims to be a forum for presenting and discussing work in
progress, and therefore to provide feedback to authors on their preliminary
research. Submissions to the workshop will in the form of full papers. The
proceedings are produced only after the meeting, so that authors can
incorporate this feedback in the published papers.

Invited Speakers
There will be three invited talks. The following talks have already been
confirmed. Delia Kesner (PPS, CNRS and Universite Paris-Diderot)
     Title: Theory and Practice of First-Class Patterns
     Jonathan Seldin (University of Lethbridge, Canada)
     Title: TBA
     Luis Fariñas de Cerro (Université Paul Sabatier -- Toulose III,
     Title: TBA

Program Committee
 Mauricio Ayala-Rincón (University of Brasília, Brazil), co-chair
     Fairouz Kamareddine (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK), co-chair
     Serge Autexier (DFKI, Bremen, Germany)
     Benjamin Rene Callejas Bedregal (Federal University of Rio Grande do
Norte, Brazil)
     Mario Benevides (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
     Guilherme Bittencourt (Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil)
     Christiano Braga (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
     Andreas Brunner (Federal University of Bahia, Brazil)
     Marcelo Coniglio (State University of Campinas, Brazil)
     Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool, UK)
     Gilles Dowek (École Polytechnique, France)
     William Farmer (McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada)
     Marcelo Finger (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
     Edward Hermann Haeusler (PUC Rio, Brazil)
     Tudor Jebelean (RISC Johannes Kepler University, Austria)
     Manfred Kerber (The University of Birmingham, UK)
     Luis C. Lamb (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
     Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, USA)
     João Marcos (Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil)
     Ana Teresa de Castro Martins (Federal University of Ceará, Brazil)
     Dale Miller (INRIA, France)
     Flávio Leonardo Cavalcanti de Moura (University of Brasília, Brazil)
     Luca Paolini (Università di Torino, Italy)
     Alberto Pardo (Universidad de la República, Uruguay)
     Elaine Pimentel (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
     Ruy de Queiroz (Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil)
     Simona Ronchi della Rocca (Università di Torino, Italy)
     Amr Sabry (Indiana University, USA)
     Christian Urban (TUM, Germany)
     Freek Wiedijk (Radboud Universiteit, The Netherlands)

Organizing Committee
     Cláudia Nalon (University of Brasília, Brazil), Local Chair
     Elaine Pimentel (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
     Edward Hermann Haeusler (PUC Rio, Brazil)
     Mauricio Ayala-Rincon (University of Brasília, Brazil)
     Guilherme Albuquerque Pinto (University of Brasília, Brazil)

Dates and Submission
     Paper submission: 3rd April, 2009
     Author notification: 15th May, 2009
     Camera ready: 31st May, 2009

Contributions should be written in English and submitted in the form full
papers with at most 16 pages. They must be unpublished and not submitted
simultaneously for publication elsewhere. The submission should be in the
form of a PDF file uploaded to LSFA'09 page at EasyChair until the
submission deadline by midnight, Central European Standard Time (GMT+1).

The papers should be prepared in latex using Elsevier ENTCS style. Please
see the Instructions for Preparing Files for Preliminary Versions
Instructions for styles and examples. The file entcs.cls is also available
here. The prentcsmacro.sty file will be available soon.

The workshop pre-proceedings, containing the reviewed papers, will be
handed-out at workshop registration and the proceedings will be published as
a volume of ENTCS.

After the workshop, according to the quantity and quality of selected
papers, the authors will be invited to submit full versions of their works
that will be also reviewed to high standards. A special issue of LSFA'06
appeared in the Journal of Algorithms and currently a special issue of
LSFA'07 is being processed and will appear in The Logical Journal of the

At least one of the authors should register at the conference. The paper
presentation should be in English.

Contact Information
For more information please contact the organizers.

The web page of the event can be reached at:


More information about the FOM mailing list