by way of Martin Davis <martin@eipye.com> ruy at cin.ufpe.br
Thu Feb 14 17:07:38 EST 2008

                >>>>>>>> DEADLINE APPROACHING: Feb 24th <<<<<<<<<<<

                                 Call for Papers

           15th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation
                                 (WoLLIC 2008)
                              Edinburgh, Scotland
                                July 1-4, 2008
             (SPECIAL: There will be a screening of George Csicsery's
                  "Julia Robinson and Hilbert's Tenth Problem"
                  with kind permission of the film director)

      WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research
      involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural
      language and reasoning.  Each meeting includes invited talks and
      tutorials as well as contributed papers.

      The Fifteenth WoLLIC will be held in Edinburgh, Scotland, from
      July 1 to July 4, 2008. It is sponsored by the Association for
      Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics
      (IGPL), the European Association for Logic, Language and Information
      (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
      (EATCS), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computacao (SBC), and the
      Sociedade Brasileira de Logica (SBL).

      Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular
      interest in cross-disciplinary topics.  Typical but not exclusive
      areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming;
      novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and
      formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to
      natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and
      foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing,
      and protection.
      Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly
      exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation,
      background, and comparison with related works.
      They must not exceed 10 pages (in font 10 or higher), with up to
      5 additional pages for references and technical appendices.
      The paper's main results must not be published or submitted
      for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other
      scientific meetings.
      It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by
      one of its authors.
      Papers must be submitted electronically at
      A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by
      February 24, and the full paper by March 2 (firm date).
      Notifications are expected by April 13, and final papers for
      the proceedings will be due by April 27 (firm date).

      The proceedings of WoLLIC 2008, including both invited and contributed
      papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in
      Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (FoLLI-LNAI
      In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report
      of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will
      be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2008 issue of the
      Journal of Computer and Systems Sciences.

      Olivier Danvy (BRICS)
      Anuj Dawar (Cambridge, UK)
      Makoto Kanazawa (Nat Inst of Informatics, Japan)
      Sam Lomonaco (U Maryland Baltimore)
      Mark Steedman (Edinburgh U)
      Henry Towsner (CMU)
      Nikolay Vereshchagin (Moscow)

      ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC 2008 will permit ASL student members to
      apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: April 1, 2008).
      See www.aslonline.org/studenttravelawards.html for details.

      February 24, 2008: Paper title and abstract deadline
      March 2, 2008: Full paper deadline (firm)
      April 13, 2008: Author notification
      April 27, 2008: Final version deadline (firm)

      Lev Beklemishev (Utrecht)
      Eli Ben-Sasson (Technion)
      Xavier Caicedo (U Los Andes, Colombia)
      Mary Dalrymple (Oxford)
      Martin Escardo (Birmingham)
      Wilfrid Hodges (Queen Mary, U London) (Chair)
      Achim Jung (Birmingham)
      Louis Kauffman (Maths, U Ill at Chicago)
      Ulrich Kohlenbach (Darmstadt)
      Leonid Libkin (Edinburgh U)
      Giuseppe Longo (Ecole Normal Superieure, Paris)
      Michael Moortgat (Utrecht)
      Valeria de Paiva (PARC, USA)
      Andre Scedrov (Maths, U Penn)
      Valentin Shehtman (Inst for Information Transmission Problems, Moscow)
      Joe Wells (Heriot-Watt U, Scotland)

      Mauricio Ayala-Rincon (U Brasilia, Brazil)
      Fairouz Kamareddine (Heriot-Watt U, Scotland, co-chair)
      Anjolina de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco, Brazil)
      Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco, Brazil, co-chair)

      S. Abramsky, J. van Benthem, J. Halpern, W. Hodges, D. Leivant,
      A. Macintyre, G. Mints, R. de Queiroz



More information about the FOM mailing list