CFP: Abstractionism 2 conference, UConn

Rossberg, Marcus marcus.rossberg at
Thu Feb 13 09:47:55 EST 2020

Reminder – Deadline soon – Call for Papers

Abstractionism 2
University of Connecticut 
May 1-3, 2020

We invite submissions of research relating to the abstractionist program in the philosophy of mathematics. We especially encourage submissions from members of underrepresented groups, graduate students, and early career scholars, who will receive free accommodation and will be considered for travel subsidies, if their submission is accepted. Paper submissions should be no longer than 3,500 words (for 20-minute talks) and should be accompanied by an abstract of 200 words. Topics for talks may cover epistemic, semantic, ontological, logical, or mathematical issues arising in the abstractionist program.

The conference website will be available here:

Keynote speaker:

Crispin Wright (University Stirling & NYU)

Other confirmed speakers include: 

Roy T. Cook (University of Minnesota) 
Fiona Doherty (University of Stirling)
Sean Ebels-Duggan (Northwestern University) 
Richard Kimberly Heck (Brown University) 
Graham Leach-Krouse (Kansas State University)
Paolo Mancosu (UC Berkeley) 
Fraser McBride (University of Manchester; via Skype)
Eileen Nutting (University of Kansas) 
Walter Pedriali (University of St. Andrews) 
Agustín Rayo (MIT)
Marcus Rossberg (University of Connecticut) 
William Stirton (Independent Scholar) 
James Studd (Oxford) 
Alan Weir (University of Glasgow) 
Sean Walsh (UCLA)
Robbie Williams (University of Leeds; via Skype) 

Please submit title, abstract (no more than 200 words), and full paper (no more than 3,500 words, prepared for anonymous review) to marcus.rossberg at, with “Abstractionism 2 conference submission” in the subject line of the email.

The deadline for submission is February 21, 2020.

Notifications of acceptance or rejection will be sent by March 16, 2020.

Philip Ebert, University of Stirling
Nikolaj Jang Lee Linding Pedersen, Yonsei University
Marcus Rossberg, University of Connecticut

We are grateful for the support provided by:
New York Institute of Philosophy
Philosophy Department, University of Connecticut
University of Connecticut Humanities Institute
UConn Logic Group

More information about the FOM mailing list