[FOM] 2019 Alonzo Church Award: Call for Nominations

Natarajan Shankar shankar at csl.sri.com
Tue Jan 8 02:12:44 EST 2019

The 2019 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and 

Call for Nominations


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding 
Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the 
ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the 
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the 
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt 
Gödel Society (KGS). The award
is for an outstanding contribution represented by a paper or by a small 
group of papers published within the past 25 years. This time span 
allows the lasting impact and depth of the contribution to have been 
established. The award can be given to an individual, or to a group of 
individuals who have collaborated on the research. For the rules 
governing this award, see: 
https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award/, and https://eacsl.org/.

The 2018 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Tomás Feder and Moshe 
Y. Vardi for their fundamental contributions to the computational 
complexity of constraint-satisfaction problems, see: 
http://siglog.org/winners-of-the-2018-alonzo-church-award/. Previous 
awardees are listed at https://www.eatcs.org/index.php/church-award.

Eligibility and Nominations

The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published 
within the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2019 award, the cut-off date is 
January 1, 1994. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a 
journal, the date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off 
date. In addition, the contribution must not yet have received 
recognition via a major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis 
Award, or the Gödel Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards 
for other contributions.) While the contribution can consist of 
conference or journal papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2019 award are now being solicited. The nominating 
letter must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is 
fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple 
co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a 
proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) 
description of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding 
four pages) to justify the nomination. Nominations may also be 
accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations should be submitted to shankar at csl.sri.com by March 1, 2019.

Presentation of the Award

The 2019 award will be presented at ICALP 2019, the International 
Colloquium on Automata, Languages and Programming. The award will be 
accompanied by an invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of the 
award winners. The awardee(s) will receive a certificate and a cash 
prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple awardees, this amount will be 

Award Committee

The 2019 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five 
members: Radha Jagadeesan, Thomas Eiter, Javier Esparza, Natarajan 
Shankar (chair), and Catuscia Palamidessi.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: </pipermail/fom/attachments/20190107/cc39443a/attachment.html>

More information about the FOM mailing list