[FOM] Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize 2019, Deadline: 15 April 2019

Benedikt Loewe bloewe at science.uva.nl
Sun Feb 17 03:35:51 EST 2019

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2019: call for nominations

Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI)
has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding
Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information,


with financial support of the E. W. Beth Foundation


Nominations are now invited for the best dissertation in these areas 
resulting in a Ph.D. degree conferred in 2018. The deadline for 
nominations is the 15th of April 2019.


    (*) A dissertation is eligible for the Beth dissertation prize 2019, if 
the Ph.D. degree has been conferred in Logic, Language, or Information 
between January 1st and December 31st, 2018.

    (*) There are no restrictions on the nationality, ethnicity, age, 
gender or employment status of the author of the nominated dissertation, 
nor on the university, academic department or scientific institution 
formally conferring the Ph.D. degree, nor on the language in which the 
dissertation has originally been written.

    (*) In accordance with the aim of the Beth Foundation to continue and 
extend the work of the Dutch logician Evert Willem Beth, nominations are 
invited of excellent dissertations on current topics in philosophical and 
mathematical logic, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, history 
of logic, history of the philosophy of science and scientific philosophy 
in general, as well as the current theoretical and foundational 
developments in information and computation, language and cognition. 
Dissertations with results more broadly impacting various research areas 
in their interdisciplinary investigations are especially solicited.

    (*) If a nominated dissertation has originally been written in a 
language other than English, its dossier should still contain the required 
10 page English abstract, see below. If the committee decides that a 
nominated dissertation in a language other than English requires 
translation to English for proper evaluation, the committee can transfer 
its nomination to the competition in 2020. The English translation must in 
such cases be submitted before the deadline of the call for nominations in 
2020. The committee may recommend the Beth Foundation to consider 
supporting such nominated dissertations for English translation, upon 
request by the author of the dissertation.


The prize consists of

    (*) a certificate,

    (*) a donation of 3000 euros, provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation,

    (*) an invitation to submit the dissertation, possibly after revision, 
for publication in FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information 

Nomination Dossier

Only digital submissions are accepted, without exception. The following 
documents are to be submitted in the nomination dossier:

    (1) The original dissertation in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf etc. not

    (2) A ten-page English abstract of the dissertation, presenting the
main results of each chapter.

    (3) A letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor, which
concisely describes the scope and significance of the dissertation,
stating when the degree was officially conferred and the members of the
Ph.D. committee. Nominations should contain the address, phone and email
details of the nominator.

    (4) Two additional letters of support, including at least one from a
referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the
Ph.D. degree, nor otherwise related to the nominee (e.g. former teachers,
supervisors, co-authors, publishers or relatives) or the dissertation.

Self-nominations are not possible.

All pdf documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, to 


Hard copy submissions are not allowed, without exception. In case of any 
problems with the submission one should contact the secretary of the 
committee Natasha Alechina (Natasha.Alechina at nottingham.ac.uk).

The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony 
during the 31st ESSLLI summer school in Riga, University of Latvia, August 
5-16, 2019.

The Beth dissertation prize committee:

Sujata Ghosh (ISI Chennai, India),
Nina Gierasimczuk (DTU, Kg. Lyngby, Denmark),
Thomas Icard (Stanford U., U.S.A.),
Benedikt Loewe (UvA, The Netherlands; U. of Hamburg, Germany; U. 
of Cambridge, UK),
Angelo Montanari (U. of Udine, Italy),
Jerry Seligman (U. of Auckland, New Zealand),
Wilfried Sieg (CMU, U.S.A.),
Hans Smessaert (KU Leuven, Belgium),
Mark Steedman (U. of Edinburgh, UK),
Alice ter Meulen (London, UK), chair;
Natasha Alechina (U. of Nottingham, UK), non-voting secretary.

More information about the FOM mailing list