[FOM] 2nd CfP: HaPoP4 Fourth Symposium on the History and Philosophy of Programming

gprimiero at libero.it gprimiero at libero.it
Sun Dec 10 07:44:27 EST 2017

Fourth Symposium on the History and Philosophy of Programming

In a society where computers have become ubiquitous, it is necessary to develop a deeper understanding of the nature of computer programs, not just from the technical viewpoint, but from a broader historical and philosophical perspective. A historical awareness of the evolution of programming not only helps to clarify the complex structure of computing, but it also provides an insight in what programming was, is and could be in the future. Philosophy, on the other hand, helps to tackle fundamental questions about the nature of programs, programming languages and programming as a discipline.

HaPoP 2018 is the fourth edition of the Symposium on the History and Philosophy of Programming, organised by HaPoC, Commission on the History and Philosophy of Computing. As in the previous editions, we are convinced that an interdisciplinary approach is necessary for understanding programming with its multifaceted nature. As such, we welcome participation by researchers and practitioners coming from a diversity of backgrounds, including historians, philosophers, computer scientists and professional software developers.

In addition to submissions in a wide range of areas traditional for HaPoP (outlined below), we especially welcome submissions that explore the nature of scientific progress with respect to computer programming as a discipline. We are interested in investigations concerning the methodology of computer programming, whether it follows a form of scientific method that allows it to increase its problem solving ability, whether its development more is akin to science, engineering or rather art, and what examples from the history of programming can be provided to support either argument.

Programme committee
        Nicola Angius, Università di Sassari
        Alan Blackwell, University of Cambridge
        Edgar Daylight, University of Leuven
        Jeremy Gibbons, University of Oxford
        Ursula Martin (co-chair), University of Oxford
        Liesbeth De Mol, Université de Lille
        Tomas Petricek (co-chair), The Alan Turing Institue
        Mark Priestley, Independent Researcher
        Giuseppe Primiero, Middlesex University London
        Viola Schiaffonati, Politecnico Milano

Important dates and links
        Submission deadline: 1 January 2018
        Author notification: 2 February 2018
        HaPoP symposium: 23 March 2018
        Submission site: https://easychair.org/account/signin.cgi?key=62700963.Cx6l7XepovbGyhJB
        HAPOC Grants: http://www.hapoc.org/node/251

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: </pipermail/fom/attachments/20171210/39648bb1/attachment.html>

More information about the FOM mailing list