[FOM] Call for Participation: Newton Institute Workshop "Logical Approaches to Barriers in Complexity II"

Arnold Beckmann A.Beckmann at swansea.ac.uk
Tue Feb 28 04:57:49 EST 2012

[Apologies for multiple copies]


                    Newton Institute Workshop
        "Logical Approaches to Barriers in Complexity II"

                       26 - 30 March 2012


Organisers: Arnold Beckmann (Swansea), and Anuj Dawar (Cambridge)
       in association with the Newton Institute programme
         "Semantics and Syntax: A Legacy of Alan Turing"


The programme of this workshop, which focusses on logical 
descriptions of complexity, i.e. descriptive complexity, 
propositional proof complexity and bounded arithmetic, is now 
online at

The workshop brings together leading researchers covering all 
research areas within the scope of the workshop.  We especially 
focus on work that draws on methods from the different areas which 
appeal to the whole community.  The following is a list of our 
speakers.  For titles and abstracts please consult our webpage.

     Samuel R. Buss (University of California, San Diego)
     Stephan Kreutzer (Technische Universität Berlin)

     Albert Atserias (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
     Yijia Chen (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
     Stefan Dantchev (Durham University)
     Arnaud Durand (Université Denis-Diderot Paris 7)
     Bjarki Holm (University of Cambridge)
     Juha Kontinen (University of Helsinki)
     Jan Krajicek (Charles University in Prague)
     Phuong The Nguyen (University of Montreal)
     Rahul Santhanam (University of Edinburgh)
     Nicole Schweikardt (Goethe University)
     Neil Thapen (Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic)

     Andrew Hodges (Oxford University)

     Robin Adams (Royal Holloway, University of London)
     Olaf Beyersdorff (Sapienza University Rome)
     Naohi Eguchi (Tohoku University)
     Nicola Galesi (Università di Roma "La Sapienza")
     Emil Jerabek (Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic)
     Jan Johannsen (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)
     Leszek Kolodziejczyk (University of Warsaw)
     Eryk Kopczynski (University of Warsaw)
     Oliver Kullmann (Swansea University)
     Steven Lindell (Haverford College )
     Saeed Salehi (University of Tabriz)
     Fan Yang (University of Helsinki)
     Moshe Vardi (Rice University)
     Joel David Hamkins (City University of New York)
     Jan Pich (Charles University in Prague)
     Wied Pakusa (RWTH Aachen University)

     If you are interested to participate in this workshop 
     please contact  Arnold Beckmann <a.beckmann at swansea.ac.uk>

More information about the FOM mailing list