[FOM] MFPS First Call for Papers

Ulrich Berger U.Berger at swansea.ac.uk
Tue Nov 29 06:26:53 EST 2011

                    MFPS XXVIII

          Twenty-eighth Conference on the
            Mathematical Foundations of
               Programming Semantics

                University of Bath
                  United Kingdom
                  6 - 9 June 2012

The Twenty-eighth Conference on the Mathematical Foundations of
Programming Semantics will take place on the campus of the
University of Bath, United Kingdom from June 6 through June 9, 2012.
MFPS conferences are devoted to those areas of mathematics, logic,
and computer science that are related to models of computation, in
general, and to the semantics of programming languages, in
particular. The series has particularly stressed providing a forum
where researchers in mathematics and computer science can meet and
exchange ideas about problems of common interest. As the series also
strives to maintain breadth in its scope, the conference strongly
encourages participation by researchers in neighbouring areas.

TOPICS include, but are not limited to, the following: biocomputation;
concurrent qualitative and quantitative distributed systems; process
calculi; probabilistic systems; constructive mathematics; domain
theory and categorical models; formal languages; formal methods; game
semantics; lambda calculus; programming-language theory; quantum
computation; security; topological models; logic; type systems; type
theory. We also welcome contributions that address applications of
semantics to novel areas such as complex systems, markets, and
networks, for example.


  Steve Awodey, CMU
  Michael Clarkson, GWU
  Patricia Johann, Strathclyde
  Dexter Kozen, Cornell (TBC)
  Drew Moshier, Chapman
  John Power, Bath

SPECIAL SESSIONS: There will be four special sessions at the meeting,
    each associated with one of the plenary talks:

  * Logic, computation and algebraic topology,
    organised by Steve Awodey and Michael Mislove

  * Security, organised by Michael Clarkson and Catherine Meadows.
    The papers in this session will be chosen from the papers
    submitted in response to this Call.

  * Computational effects, organised by John Power

  * Computability on Continuous Data, organised by Drew Moshier

There also will be a series of four Tutorial Lectures;
the topic and speakers will be announced later.


  Thorsten Altenkirch, U Nottingham, UK
  Steve Awodey, Carnegie Mellon U, USA
  Andrej Bauer, U Ljubljana, Slovenia
  Ulrich Berger, Swansea U, UK (Chair)
  Bob Coecke, U Oxford, UK
  Stephen Brooks, Carnegie Mellon U, USA
  Martin Escardo, U Birmingham, UK
  Marcelo Fiore, U Cambridge, UK
  Neil Ghani, U Strathclyde, UK
  Alexey Gotsman, IMDEA, Madrid, Spain
  Hugo Herbelin, INRIA, Rocquencourt-Paris, France
  Achim Jung, U Birmingham, UK
  Daniel Leivant, U Indiana, USA
  Guy McCusker, U Bath, UK
  Catherine Meadows, NRL, USA
  Michael Mislove, Tulane U, USA
  Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary U London, UK
  Luke Ong, U Oxford, UK
  Prakash Panangaden, McGill U, Canada
  John Power, U Bath, UK
  Jan Rutten, Radboud Nijmegen, Netherlands
  Alex Simpson, U Edinburgh, UK
  James Worrell, U Oxford, UK


  - 24 February 2012    Title and Short Abstract submission deadline
  - 2 March 2012        Paper submission deadline
  - 2 April 2012        Notification to authors
  - 23 April 2012       Preliminary proceedings version due

SUBMISSIONS should be prepared using ENTCS Macros, available from
http://www.entcs.org. Submissions should be in the form of a PDF file
not exceeding 15 pages in length. Submissions will be open shortly
after January 1 on the EasyChair website:

PROCEEDINGS: There will be a preliminary proceedings of the
conference papers that will be distributed at the meeting, with a
final proceedings published in ENTCS after the meeting.

The Organisers of the MFPS series are Stephen Brookes (CMU),
Achim Jung (Birmingham), Catherine Meadows (NRL),
Michael Mislove (Tulane) and Prakash Panangaden (McGill).
The local arrangements for MFPS XXVIII are being overseen
by Guy McCusker (Bath) and John Power (Bath).

More information about the FOM mailing list