Christos Nomikos cnomikos at cs.uoi.gr
Fri Mar 25 21:48:17 EDT 2011

The deadline for paper submission to PLS8 has been exteded to April 2, 2011.

***                                                                         ***
***  T H E   8 T H   P A N H E L L E N I C   L O G I C   S Y M P O S I U M  ***
***                      J u l y   4  -  8 ,   2 0 1 1                      ***
***                      I o a n n i n a,  G r e e c e                      ***
***                                                                         ***
***                           www.cs.uoi.gr/~pls8/                          ***
***                                                                         ***

                               FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS


The Panhellenic Logic Symposium, a biennial scientific event established in
1997, aims to promote interaction and cross-fertilization among different areas
of logic. Originally conceived as a way of bringing together the many logicians
of Hellenic descent throughout the world, it has evolved into an international
forum for the communication of state-of-the-art advances in logic. The
symposium is open to researchers worldwide who work in logic broadly conceived.
The Eighth Panhellenic Logic Symposium will be hosted by the Department of
Computer Science at the University of Ioannina.


The scientific program of the symposium will consist of one-hour long invited
talks, three-hour long tutorials, and twenty-five-minute presentations of
accepted contributed papers.  There will also be special opportunities for
students to give short talks, and receive comments on work in progress.


- Jeremy Avigad (Carnegie Mellon, USA)
- Dale Miller (INRIA, France)
- Simon Thomas (Rutgers, USA)


- George Barmpalias (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
- Ozlem Beyarslan (Bogazici University, Turkey)
- Michael Rathjen (University of Leeds, UK)
- Nicole Schweikardt (Goethe University, Germany)
- Athanassios Tzouvaras (University of Thessaloniki, Greece)


Original papers that fall within the scope of the symposium are solicited.
Prospective speakers of twenty-five-minute presentations are invited to submit
an extended abstract, in English, not exceeding five pages, by 25 March 2011.
Papers should be prepared using the EasyChair class style (available from
http://www.easychair.org/coolnews.cgi) and submitted electronically, using
the Easy Chair conference  system, at

If possible, each submitted paper should be classified in one of the following
areas (in alphabetical order):

- Algebraic and Categorical Methods in Logic
- Computability Theory
- History and Philosophy of Logic
- Logic in Computer Science
- Model Theory
- Nonclassical and Modal Logics
- Proof Theory
- Set Theory

All submitted papers will be reviewed by the scientific committee of the
symposium, who will make final decisions on acceptance or rejection.  During
the symposium, each accepted paper will be presented by one of its authors,
with five extra minutes for questions.  Authors of submitted papers will be
notified of the decision by early May 2011. Camera-ready extended abstracts
will be due by the end of May for inclusion in the symposium proceedings which
will be distributed to all participants.


Graduate students are invited to submit short abstracts on work in progress
but not yet ready for a regular contributed talk. Those accepted will have
an opportunity to present their subject in a special student session, and to
receive comments and suggestions from mentors including some of the invited

Interested students should submit to
by  May 29, 2011, an abstract of no more than one page in .pdf form.


- Abstract Submission Deadline: April 2, 2011
- Student Abstract Submission Deadline: May 29, 2011
- Acceptance Notification: May 7, 2011
- Camera Ready Papers Deadline: May 31, 2011
- Acceptance Notification for Student Abstracts: June 10, 2011
- Conference Dates: July 4-8, 2011


- Ayse Berkman (Middle East Technical University)
- Costas Dimitracopoulos (University of Athens)
- Kostas Hatzikiriakou (University of Thessaly)
- Antonis Kakas (University of Cyprus)
- Panagis Karazeris (University of Patras)
- Phokion Kolaitis (University of California, Santa Cruz
                     and IBM Research-Almaden)
- George Koletsos (National Technical University of Athens )
- Joan Moschovakis (Occidental College (retired), Chair of SC)
- Christos Nomikos (University of Ioannina)
- Itay Neeman (University of California, Los Angeles)
- Thanases Pheidas (University of Crete)
- Alexandra Soskova (Sofia University)
- Constantine Tsinakis (Vanderbilt University)
- Stathis Zachos (National Technical University of Athens )


- Manolis Gergatsoulis (Ionian University)
- Spyros Kontogiannis (University of Ioannina)
- Costas Koutras (University of Peloponnese)
- Christos Nomikos (University of Ioannina, chair of the OC)
- Panos Rondogiannis (University of Athens)




  Joan Moschovakis (Chair of the Scientific Committee)

  e-mail:  joan at math.ucla.edu

  Christos Nomikos (Chair of the Organizing Committee)

  address: University of Ioannina
           Department of Computer Science
           P.O. Box 1186
           45110,  Ioannina

  tel:     +30 26510 08815

  fax:     +30 26510 08895

  e-mail:  cnomikos at cs.uoi.gr
           pls8 at zeus.cs.uoi.gr

More information about the FOM mailing list