[FOM] MSFP: Call for Papers

Venanzio Capretta vxc at Cs.Nott.AC.UK
Fri Feb 26 06:54:33 EST 2010

Third Workshop on
25 September 2010,  Baltimore, USA
A satellite workshop of ICFP 2010

The workshop on Mathematically Structured Functional Programming is
devoted to the derivation of functionality from structure. It is a
celebration of the direct impact of Theoretical Computer Science on
programs as we write them today. Modern programming languages, and in
particular functional languages, support the direct expression of
mathematical structures, equipping programmers with tools of remarkable
power and abstraction. Monadic programming in Haskell is the
paradigmatic example, but there are many more mathematical insights
manifest in programs and in programming language design:
Freyd-categories in reactive programming, symbolic differentiation
yielding context structures, and comonadic presentations of dataflow, to
name but three. This workshop is a forum for researchers who seek to
reflect mathematical phenomena in data and control.

The first MSFP workshop was held in Kuressaare, Estonia, in July 2006.
Selected papers were published as a special issue of the Journal of
Functional Programming (volume 19, issue 3-4).
The second MSFP workshop was held in Reykjavik, Iceland as part of ICALP

Papers must report previously unpublished work and not be submitted
concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings. Programme
Committee members, barring the co-chairs, may (and indeed are encouraged
to) contribute. Accepted papers must be presented at the workshop by one
of the authors.

There is no specific page limit, but authors should strive for brevity.

We are using the EasyChair software to manage submissions.
To submit a paper, please log in at:

The workshop proceedings will be published by ACM.

Submission of abstracts: 9 April
Submission of papers: 16 April
Notification: 28 May
Final versions due: 25 June
Workshop: 25 September

For more information about the workshop, go to:

Programme Committee

* Andreas Abel, LMU Munich, Germany
* Ana Bove, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
* Andrej Bauer, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
* Venanzio Capretta (co-chair), University of Nottingham, UK
* James Chapman (co-chair), Institute of Cybernetics, Tallinn, Estonia
* Adam Chlipala, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
* Catarina Coquand, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
* Karl Crary, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA
* Manuel Alcino Cunha, Universidade do Minho, Braga, Portugal
* Andy Gill, University of Kansas, USA
* Mauro Jaskelioff, Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina
* Oleg Kiselyov, FNMOC, Monterey, California, USA
* Lionel Elie Mamane,  Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
* Conor McBride, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
* Greg Morrisett, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
* Russell O'Connor, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
* Benoit Razet, TIFR (Tata Institute of Fundamental research), India
* Carsten Schrmann, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
* Wouter Swierstra, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
* Tarmo Uustalu, Institute of Cybernetics, Tallinn, Estonia
* Varmo Vene, University of Tartu, Estonia

More information about the FOM mailing list