[FOM] Leeds Symposium on Proof Theory and Constructivism

Laura Crosilla matmlc at leeds.ac.uk
Wed Apr 8 16:48:11 EDT 2009


A two week symposium on Proof Theory and Constructivism will be held in the
Research Visitors’ Centre of the School of Mathematics at Leeds, from 3rd
July (arrival) to 16th July (departure) this year. It will comprise three
connected events, supported by the BLC, LMS, EPSRC, the Goedel Society and
the Deutsche Vereinigung fur Math Logik und Grundlagenforschung:

4th & 5th July: An LMS-funded conference on Proofs and Computations with
speakers W. Buchholz (Munich), E.A. Cichon (Nancy), D. Normann (Oslo), W.W.
Tait (Chicago), J.V. Tucker (Swansea), A. Weiermann (Ghent).
This meeting will be in honour of Stan Wainer on the occasion of his 65th

5th & 6th July: A Gentzen Centenary Conference funded by the Gödel Society
and DVMLG, celebrating 100 years since the birth of Gerhard Gentzen, the
founder of structural proof theory. Speakers who have so far agreed to come
are: M. Baaz (Vienna), G. Mints (Stanford), J. von Plato (Helsinki), W.
Pohlers (Muenster), H. Schwichtenberg (Munich), W. Sieg (CMU Pittsburgh), G.
Sundholm (Leiden).

7th – 16th July: An EPSRC-funded Research Workshop on Proof Theory and
Constructivism. Though each day will begin with two plenary sessions, the
emphasis will be on research activity within the areas: Ordinal Analysis,
Proof Mining and Complexity, Constructive Foundations, and Constructive
Methods in Mathematics. In addition to many of those aforementioned, the
following have already indicated their intention to participate, and others
(yet to be announced) are expected to come:
P.Aczel (Manchester), T. Arai (Kobe), A. Beckmann (Swansea), U. Berger
(Swansea), D. Bridges (Christchurch), S. Buss (San Diego), A. Cantini
(Florence), T. Carlson (Columbus), R. Constable (Cornell), T. Coquand
(Gothenberg), F. Ferreira (Lisbon), H. Friedman (Columbus), N. Gambino
(Leicester), P. Hancock (Strathclyde), M. Hyland (Cambridge), G. Jäger
(Bern), H. Ishihara (JAIST), U. Kohlenbach (Darmstadt), R. Lubarsky
(Florida), S. Negri (Helsinki), E. Palmgren (Uppsala), G. Sambin (Padua), P.
Schuster (Munich), A. Setzer (Swansea), H. Simmons (Manchester), T. Strahm
(Bern), W. Tait (Chicago), S. Tupailo (Tallinn).

Limited support is available for younger researchers, who are encouraged to
Basic accommodation is available at modest cost, at Lyddon Hall on the Leeds
University Campus close to the School of Mathematics.

For further information visit the web-site:
or contact the organisers at: matptw at leeds.ac.uk

Organisers of the LMS meeting: Michael Rathjen and Laura Crosilla.
Organisers of the other events:  Michael Rathjen, Laura Crosilla, and Stan

More information about the FOM mailing list