[FOM] WoLLIC'2007 - Call for Participation

Ruy de Queiroz ruy at cin.ufpe.br
Fri May 11 13:48:25 EDT 2007

                    [** sincere apologies for duplicates **]

                             Call for Participation

          14th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation
                           Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
                               July 2-5, 2007
     (a satellite event to Brazilian Computer Society Conference - CSBC'07)

     WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research
     involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural
     language and reasoning.  Each meeting includes invited talks and
     tutorials as well as contributed papers.

     The Fourteenth WoLLIC will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from
     July 2 to July 5, 2007, in conjunction with the 27th Brazilian
     Computer Society Conference. It is sponsored by the Association for
     Symbolic Logic (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics
     (IGPL), the European Association for Logic, Language and Information
     (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
     (EATCS), the Sociedade Brasileira de Computacao (SBC), and the
     Sociedade Brasileira de Logica (SBL).

     The proceedings of WoLLIC'2007, including both invited and contributed
     papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in
     Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science.  In addition,
     abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of
     the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will
     be published as a special post-conference WoLLIC'2007 special issue
     of the journal Information and Computation.

     Alex Borgida (Rutgers)
     Alessandra Carbone (Paris)
     Martin Escardo (Birmingham)
     Philippa Gardner (Imperial Coll)
     Achim Jung (Birmingham)
     Louis Kauffman (U Illinois Chicago)
     Michael Moortgat (Utrecht)
     Paulo Oliva (London/QM)
     John Reif (Duke)
     Yde Venema (Amsterdam)

     Stone duality, by A. Jung
     Quantum topology and quantum computation, by L. Kauffman
     Biological computing, by J. Reif

     Description Logics: formal foundations and applications, by A. Borgida
     Group Theory and Classical Proofs, by A. Carbone
     Algorithmic Topology of Program Types, by M. Escardo
     Contex Logic and Tree Update, by Ph. Gardner
     On the interplay of logic and information: A topological analysis,
       by A. Jung
     Spin networks in quantum computation, by L. Kauffman
     Symmetries in natural language syntax and semantics:
       the Lambek-Grishin calculus, by M. Moortgat
     Computational Interpretations of Classical Linear Logic, by P. Oliva
     Autonomous programmable biomolecular devices using self-assembled DNA
       nanostructures specifying properties of data DNA Nanostructures,
       by J. Reif
     A modal distributive law, by Y. Venema

     The following publishers are expected to be exhibiting various books
     from their catalogue, prospectuses, journal samples, etc., and there
     will be a chance to order items at promotional prices:
       The MIT Press
       A K Peters
       Cambridge Univ Press
       CSLI Publications (Stanford Univ)
       Oxford Univ Press
       World Scientific
     It is likely that a few other international publishers will also take
     part in the book exhibit.

     Samson Abramsky (U Oxford)
     Michael Benedikt (Bell Labs)
     Lars Birkedal (ITU Copenhagen)
     Andreas Blass (U Michigan)
     Thierry Coquand (Chalmers U, Goteborg)
     Jan van Eijck (CWI, Amsterdam)
     Marcelo Finger (U Sao Paulo)
     Rob Goldblatt (Victoria U, Wellington)
     Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Redmond)
     Hermann Haeusler (PUC Rio)
     Masami Hagiya (Tokyo U)
     Joseph Halpern (Cornell U)
     John Harrison (Intel UK)
     Wilfrid Hodges (U London/QM)
     Phokion Kolaitis (IBM Almaden Research Center)
     Marta Kwiatkowska (U Birmingham)
     Daniel Leivant (Indiana U) (Chair)
     Maurizio Lenzerini (U Rome)
     Jean-Yves Marion (LORIA Nancy)
     Dale Miller (Polytechnique Paris)
     John Mitchell (Stanford U)
     Lawrence Moss (Indiana U)
     Peter O'Hearn (U London/QM)
     Prakash Panangaden (McGill, Montreal)
     Christine Paulin-Mohring (Paris-Sud, Orsay)
     Alexander Razborov (Steklov, Moscow)
     Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich U)
     Jouko Vaananen (U Helsinki)

     Marcelo da Silva Correa (U Fed Fluminense)
     Renata P. de Freitas (U Fed Fluminense)
     Ana Teresa Martins (U Fed Ceara')
     Anjolina de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco)
     Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco, co-chair)
     Petrucio Viana (U Fed Fluminense, co-chair)


More information about the FOM mailing list