[FOM] SMT Workshop: Submission deadline extended to 28 April

Krstic, Sava sava.krstic at intel.com
Tue Apr 24 15:46:59 EDT 2007




     .----------------- Last Call for Papers -------------------

                         SMT Workshop '07
     5th International Workshop on Satisfiability Modulo Theories

         Previously called: Pragmatics of Decision Procedures
                   in Automated Reasoning (PDPAR)

      Berlin, Germany, 1-2 July 2007  (affiliated with CAV '2007)



Deciding the satisfiability of first-order formulas modulo background
theories, known as the Satisfiability Modulo Theories (SMT) problem,
has proved to be useful in verification, compiler optimization,
scheduling, and other areas.

The success of SMT techniques depends on the development of both
domain-specific decision procedures for each concrete theory
(e.g. linear arithmetic, the theory of arrays, or the theory of
bit-vectors) and combination methods that allow one to obtain more
versatile SMT tools. These two ingredients together make SMT
techniques well-suited for use in larger automated reasoning and
formal verification efforts.

Aims and Scope
The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers and users of
SMT tools and techniques. Continuing with the PDPAR tradition, we
especially encourage submission of papers focused on pragmatic
aspects. Relevant topics include but are not limited to:

* New decision procedures and new theories of interest
* Combination of decision procedures
* Novel implementation techniques
* Benchmarks and evaluation methodologies
* Applications and case studies
* Theoretical results

Important dates
Submission deadline                  : 28 April
Notification of acceptance/rejection : 21 May
Final version due                    : 4 June
Workshop                             : 1-2 July

Given the informal style of the workshop, only informal proceedings
will be distributed at the workshop. We are planning to publish a
selected subset of the submitted papers as post-proceedings in a
special volume of the Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science
(ENTCS) unless the authors prefer not to.

Paper Submission and Proceedings
Following the PDPAR'06 initiative, there are two categories of

* Original papers: contain original research (simultaneous submissions
  are not allowed) and sufficient detail to assess the merits and
  relevance of the submission. For papers reporting experimental
  results, authors are strongly encouraged to make their data
  available. Given the informal style of the workshop, we will   
  welcome work in progress and novel ideas that are not yet
  competitive in practice.

* Presentation-only papers: describe work recently published or
  submitted and will not be included in the proceedings. We see this
  as a way to provide additional access to important developments that
  SMT Workshop attendees may be unaware of.

Papers in both categories will be peer-reviewed. Papers should not  
exceed 10 pages (Postscript or PDF) and should be written in LaTeX,
11pt, one column, a4paper, standard margins. Technical details may be
included in an appendix to be read at the reviewers' discretion. Full
submission guidelines are at the workshop web page.

Invited Speakers

- Rupak Majumdar, University of California, Los Angeles.

- Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary, University of London.

Student travel awards
SMT 2007 will partially reimburse some students for their
conference-related expenses. Preference will be given   
to students playing an active role in the workshop. However,
students in other situations are also encouraged to apply.

We require applications in the form of a short recommendation letter
written by the student's supervisor, to be sent to the PC chairs by
March 30.

Program Chairs

- Sava Krstic, Intel Corporation
- Albert Oliveras, Tech. Univ. of Catalonia  

Program Committee
Clark Barrett, New York University
Alessandro Cimatti, ITC-Irst, Trento
Byron Cook, Microsoft Research
Amit Goel, Intel Corporation
Aarti Gupta, NEC Labs America
Shuvendu Lahiri, Microsoft Research
Leonardo de Moura, Microsoft Research
Robert Nieuwenhuis, Technical University of Catalonia
Silvio Ranise, LORIA, Nancy
Roberto Sebastiani, Universita` di Trento
Ofer Strichman, Technion
Cesare Tinelli, University of Iowa
Ashish Tiwari, Stanford Research Institute (SRI)

More information about the FOM mailing list