IJCAR 2014

7th International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning (IJCAR)
July 19th to July 22nd 2014
Vienna, Austria

IJCAR 2014 Program

List of Accepted Papers

Herbrand Award and Best Paper Award Announced [new]

Important Dates

Abstract submission: January 22nd 2014
Paper submission: January 29th 2014
Notification: April 7th, 2014
Final version: April 26th, 2014
Early registration deadline: June 8th 2014   [ register for VSL conferences ]
Conference: July 19th to July 22nd 2014
Affiliated workshops: July 17, 18, 23, 24   [ list of workshops ]

Conference Scope

IJCAR is the premier international joint conference on all topics in automated reasoning. The IJCAR technical program will consist of presentations of high-quality original research papers, system descriptions, and invited talks. IJCAR 2014 is a merger of leading events in automated reasoning:

CADE (Conference on Automated Deduction),
FroCoS (Workshop on Frontiers of Combining Systems),
TABLEAUX (Conference on Analytic Tableaux and Related Methods)

IJCAR 2014 invites submissions related to all aspects of automated reasoning, including foundations, implementations, and applications. Original research papers and descriptions of working automated deduction systems are solicited.

IJCAR topics include the following ones:

  • Logics of interest include: propositional, first-order, classical, equational, higher-order, non-classical, constructive, modal, temporal, many-valued, substructural, description, type theory, etc.
  • Methods of interest include: tableaux, sequent calculi, resolution, model-elimination, inverse method, paramodulation, term rewriting, induction, unification, constraint solving, decision procedures, model generation, model checking, semantic guidance, interactive theorem proving, logical frameworks, AI-related methods for deductive systems, proof presentation, automated theorem provers, etc.
  • Applications of interest include: verification, formal methods, program analysis and synthesis, computer mathematics, declarative programming, deductive databases, knowledge representation, etc.

The proceedings of IJCAR 2014 will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNAI/LNCS series.

Herbrand Award for Distinguished Contributions to Automated Reasoning [new]

Robert L. Constable was presented the 2014 Herbrand Award in recognition of his pioneering research in automated reasoning, such as his seminal contributions to the foundations of computational type theory; the creation of Nuprl, the first constructive type theory based theorem prover; the development of the correct-by-construction programming paradigm; and their applications to verification and synthesis of computer systems, including distributed computing.

Best Paper Award [new]

The best paper award was given to Aleksandar Zeljić, Christoph M. Wintersteiger, and Philipp Rümmer for their paper Approximations for Model Construction.

The paper presents a new way to integrate approximation techniques into automated reasoning procedures and proves its usefulness for the important case of floating-point arithmetic.

The paper was selected by the IJCAR 2014 Program Committee.

Submission Details

All submissions were made electronically via EasyChair. Submission is now closed.

Authors are strongly encouraged to use LaTeX and the Springer “llncs” format, which can be obtained from here.
The page limit is 15 pages for full papers, and 7 pages for system descriptions.

Invited Speakers

Ken McMillan, Microsoft Research
Rajeev Goré, Australian National University

Other speakers during the second week of the Vienna Summer for Logic include (in alphabetical order) Franz Baader, Edmund Clarke, Veronique Cortier, Orna Kupferman, Christos Papadimitriou, and Alex Wilkie.

Affiliated Workshops

76 workshops have been accepted to FLoC 2014, and a number are affiliated to IJCAR. The full list of workshops is available on the VSL site.

Student travel awards

FLoC travel awards are available to enable selected students to attend the conference. See the FLoC travel support page for details. Please note the application deadline is June 8, so act quickly.


Program co-chairs:
Stéphane Demri, NYU & CNRS
Deepak Kapur, U. of New Mexico
Christoph Weidenbach, MPII

Conference co-chairs:
Christian Fermüller, TUW, Vienna
Stefan Hetzl, TUW, Vienna

Organizing committee:
Christian Fermüller, TUW, Vienna
Stefan Hetzl, TUW, Vienna
Giselle Reis, TUW, Vienna

Publicity chair:
Morgan Deters, NYU

Workshop chair:
Matthias Horbach, MPII

Program committee:
Franz Baader (TU Dresden, Germany)
Peter Baumgartner (NICTA Canberra, Australia)
Bernhard Beckert (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
Jasmin Blanchette (Technische Universität München, Germany)
Bernard Boigelot (University of Liege, Belgium)
Maria Paola Bonacina (Università degli Studi di Verona, Italy)
Agata Ciabattoni (TU Vienna, Austria)
Koen Claessen (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden)
Leonardo de Moura (Microsoft Research)
Stéphanie Delaune (LSV, CNRS, Cachan, France)
Stéphane Demri (New York University & CNRS)
Stephan Falke (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
Christian Fermüller (TU Vienna, Austria)
Pascal Fontaine (LORIA, University of Nancy, France)
Silvio Ghilardi (University of Milano, Italy)
Jürgen Giesl (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Valentin Goranko (TU Denmark, Copenhagen)
Radu Iosif (VERIMAG, Grenoble, France)
Deepak Kapur (University of New Mexico, USA)
Boris Konev (University of Liverpool, UK)
Konstantin Korovin (The University of Manchester, UK)
Daniel Kroening (Oxford University, UK)
Viktor Kuncak (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland)
Martin Lange (University of Kassel, Germany)
Stephan Merz (LORIA, INRIA Lorraine, France)
Aart Middeldorp (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
Enric Rodríguez-Carbonell (TU Catalonia, Spain)
Renate Schmidt (The University of Manchester, UK)
Carsten Schürmann (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Roberto Sebastiani (University of Trento, Italy)
Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (University Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
Geoff Sutcliffe (University of Miami, USA)
Cesare Tinelli (The University of Iowa, USA)
Uwe Waldmann (MPI-INF, Saarbrücken, Germany)
Christoph Weidenbach (MPI-INF, Saarbrücken, Germany)
Jian Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences, P.R. China)

FLoC organization committee:
M. Baaz, S. Szeider, M. Vardi, H. Veith