V22.0002: Introduction to Computers and Programming
Section 2 - Fall 2002

Instructor: Haytham Allos.
Phone Number: TBD
E-mail Address: allos@cs.nyu.edu
Class: Monday and Wednesday; 9:30 - 10:45 am in room 101 of Warren Weaver Hall
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday  11:00 - 12:30 pm, or at other times by appointment.  Office hours location is in primary class lab, 14 Washington Place Lab (lower level).  
Class labs: You may do your work in any of the following labs or at home if you have Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0.  The labs listed below are equipped with Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 compiler.  Keep in mind if you are using an alternative compiler, it is your responsibility to make sure your code works on the Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 compiler before being graded.

Whenever you have a question about the course material, please feel free to drop by during my office hours or write me an email message.  If at any time you feel that you are falling behind or are overwhelmed by the material, let me know: I will be very happy to help you.

Course Materials


Schedule
(The actual schedule might vary slightly)

Week
Date Description Text
1
Wednesday September 4
Introduction
The Basics of Computers and
the Internet.

Chapter 1
2
Monday September 9
and
Wednesday September 11
(Need to Complete
Orientation This Week)

C and Visual C++ basics
(Visit Lab)

Chapter 1
3 Monday September 16
and
Wednesday September 18
Simple C Programming
Input, Output, Memory, Arithmetic,
Decision Making, Constants

Chapter 2
4
Monday September 16
and
Wednesday September 18
Simple C Programming
Continued ...
Chapter 2
5
Monday September 23
and
Wednesday September 25
(Lab Assignment 1 Due)
Structured Programming
(Selection/Repetition)
if, if/else, while, Assignment, Increment and
Decrement Operators
Chapter 3
6
Monday September 30
and
Wednesday October 2
Structured Programming
Continued ...
Chapter 3
7
Monday October 7
and
Wednesday October 9
(Midterm #1 on Wednesday
October 9)

Program Control
(Repetition)
for, switch, do/while, break, continue
Chapter 4
8
Monday October 14
and
Wednesday October 16
(Lab Assignment 2 Due)
Program Control
Continued ...
Chapter 4
9
Monday October 21
and
Wednesday October 23
(Lab Assignment 3 Due)
Functions
The Basics of Functions, Input, Output of
Functions, and Scope
Chapter 5
10
Monday October 28
and
Wednesday October 30
Functions
Continued ...
Chapter 5
11
Monday November 4
and
Wednesday November 6
(Lab Assignment 4 Due)
Arrays
Introduction, Declaring Arrays, Passing
Arrays to Functions, Sorting Arrays,
Searching Arrays, Multi-Dimension Arrays
Chapter 6
12
Monday November 11
and
Wednesday November 13
(Midterm #2 on Wednesday
November 13)

Arrays
Continued ...
(Extra Credit Assignment Assigned)
Chapter 6
13
Monday November 18
and
Wednesday November 20
(Lab Assignment 5 Due)
Structures
Typedef, Structure, Memory
Chapter 10
(10.1-6)
14
Monday November 25
and
Wednesday November 27
Structures
Continued ...
Chapter 10
15
Monday December 2
and
Wednesday December 4
(Lab Assignment 6 Due)
Formatted Input/Output
Printf, Conversion Specifiers, Escape
Sequences
Chapter 9
16
Monday December 9
and
Wednesday December 11
Optional/Extras
Final Review/Comprehensive


Thursday December 19 8:00 am - 9:50 am Final


General course information

The homework will consist of programming assignments. Style counts (that includes using meaningful names and providing sufficient comments in the body of the programs). Assignments must be done on the computer.
There will be two midterms and a final. Your grade will be 5 percent orientation plus 10 percent midterm #1, plus 10 percent midterm #2, plus 10 percent final plus 65 percent lab programming assignments.  If you plan to continue with computer science courses, you *MUST* get a grade of C or better in this course. No exceptions will be made.

There is a home page for this course available on the world wide web at the following address:

http://cs.nyu.edu/courses/fall02/V22.0002-002/index.htm
You should use this to obtain assignments and programs done in class.


Haytham Allos
September 3, 2002