Computer Science Department

Scheduled Talks: Spring 2003
bar

Following are announcements for talks scheduled for presentation by the Department of Computer Science. To subscribe or unsubscribe from the colloqium mailing list, use this page: http://www.cs.nyu.edu/mailman/listinfo/colloq For more information, please contact Jillian Kerlin (kerlin@cs.nyu.edu).

Date Speaker/Affiliation Details Host
Friday, January 24, 2003 John Moody
Oregon Health & Science University
Learning to Trade via Direct Reinforcement Davi Geiger
Friday, January 31, 2003 Yali Amit
University of Chicago
An Integrated Network for Invariant Visual Detection and Recognition Davi Geiger
Monday February 3, 2003 Stephane Mallat
Erwan Le Pennec
Sparse Geometrical Representations with Bandelets Davi Geiger
Wednesday, February 5, 2003 Jack Snoeyink
UNC Chapel Hill
Delaunay Meshes over Time and Space Chee Yap
Friday, February 7, 2003 Dr. Laurent Balmelli
IBM Research
Space-Optimized Texture Maps And Extension To Volume Warping Denis Zorin
Friday, February 14, 2003 Ron Goldman
Rice University
Fractals Everywhere: The Turtle vs. Dr. Barnsley Demetri Terzopoulos
Monday, February 24, 2003 John Jannotti
MIT
Internet Infrastructure for Efficient Overlays Richard Cole
Friday, March 7, 2003 Eddie Kohler
ICIR
Click, From Extensible Router to Versatile Packet Processor Richard Cole
Monday, March 10, 2003 Yoav Freund
Banter Inc.
A black-box approach to machine learning Richard Cole
Wednesday, March 26, 2003 Indranil Gupta
Cornell University
Achieving Scale And Reliability in Distributed Systems -- A Probabilistic Protocol Methodology Richard Cole
Friday, March 28, 2003 Sam Madden
University of California, Berkeley
Query Processing in Sensor Networks Richard Cole
Monday, March 31, 2003 Todd Millstein
University of Washington
Reconciling Software Extensibility with Modular Program Reasoning Richard Cole
Friday, April 4, 2003 Haifeng Yu
Duke University
TACT: Continuous Consistency for Wide-Area Replication Richard Cole
Monday, April 7 April 21 (postponed), 2003 Philip Wadler
Avaya Labs
From Frege to Gosling:19'th century logic and 21'st century programming languages Richard Cole
Monday, April 14, 2003 Yann LeCun
NEC Labs America
Lagrangian Difference Learning with Applications to Vision Richard Cole
Friday, April 18, 2003 Micha Sharir
New York University
Arrangements in Computational Geometry: Past, Present, and Future Chee Yap
Monday, May 5, 2003 Eran Halperin
University of California, Berkeley
Algorithmic Approaches to Biological Sequence Analysis Richard Cole
Wednesday, May 7, 2003 Christina Leslie
Columbia University
Fast String Kernels for Discriminative Protein Classification Richard Cole
Friday, May 16, 2003 IBM Research/NYU/Columbia
Theory Day
Theory Day Yevgeniy Dodis & Tal Malkin
bar
e-mail: webmaster@cs.nyu.edu