Class Notes

Refer to this page for class notes, Python scripts, and scheduled readings.

Week 1 Topics and Code Reading and Slides
Mon, Jan 28 Introduction and Overview How to Think Like a Computer Scientist, Chapter 1

Slides
Wed, Jan 30 Python and IDLE

first-program.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 1

Slides

Installing Python 3
Week 2
Mon, Feb 4 Math, Strings, and Variables

shell-transcript-1.txt
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 2: 7–21

Slides
Wed, Feb 6 Math, Strings, and Variables

lucky-number-generator.py
area-calculator.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 2: 22–28

Slides
Week 3
Mon, Feb 11 Basic Input and Output

favorite-color.py
area-calculator-input.py
area-calculator-input-alt.py
change-calculator.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 3: 29–33

Slides
Wed, Feb 13 Basic Input and Output

address-with-separator.py
address-with-end-character.py
phone-number-generator.py
basho-haiku.py
name-age.py
name-age-control.py
working-with-dates.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 3: 34–40
Week 4
Mon, Feb 18 Presidents’ Day—no classes scheduled
Wed, Feb 20 Control Structures

password.py
voting-age.py
roll-the-die.py
weather-conversation.py
weather-conversation-alt.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 4: 41–46

Slides
Week 5
Mon, Feb 25 Control Structures

pizza-or-sushi.py
cell-contract-renewal.py
voting-age-citizen.py
date-long-form.py
card-deal.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 4: 47–51
Wed, Feb 27 Control Structures/Review

pet-owner.py
day-of-week.py
day-and-time.py
rain-or-snow.py
Slides
Week 6
Mon, Mar 4 Exam 1
Wed, Mar 6 Repetition Structures

basic-counter.py
basic-counter-range.py
basic-counter-range-step.py
basic-counter-range-inverse-step.py
multiplication-table.py
basic-while-counter.py
speed-test.py
numbers-to-sum.py
numbers-to-sum-while.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 4: 52–56

Slides
Week 7
Mon, Mar 11 Repetition Structures

siblings.py
repetitive-statements.py
sum-unknown-number.py
shopping-trip.py
break-statement.py
multiplication-table.py
multiplication-table-formatted.py
square-shape-characters.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 4: 57–62
Wed, Mar 13 Repetition Structures/Functions

triangle-from-characters.py
triangle-from-characters-alt.py
triangle-pattern.py
fahrenheit-to-celcius.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 5: 63–68

Slides
Week 8
Mon, Mar 18 Spring Recess—no classes scheduled
Wed, Mar 20 Spring Recess—no classes scheduled
Week 9
Mon, Mar 25 Functions

circle-area-function.py
circle-area-function-global.py
multiplication-table-functions.py
password-main-function.py
multiple-function-parameters.py
default-function-parameter.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 5: 69–76

Slides
Wed, Mar 27 Functions

for-loop-function.py
shapes.py
spring.py
basho-spring-haiku.py
greater-area.py
name-return-values.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 5: 77–79
Week 10
Mon, Apr 1 Strings

print-each-character.py
character-replacement-loop.py
random-letter.py
name-mashup.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 6: 81–86

Slides
Wed, Apr 3 Strings

sentence-type-test.py
sentence-type-test-alt.py
price-strip-function.py
euro-currency-conversion.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 6: 87–98
Week 11
Mon, Apr 8 Strings/Review

are-you-there-thomas.py
Slides
Wed, Apr 10 Exam 2
Week 12
Mon, Apr 15 Programming Graphics

draw-square.py
draw-circle.py
draw-circle-input.py
draw-circle-input-function.py
draw-square-rgb.py
draw-circle-triangle.py
turtle-instances.py
drawing-with-instances.py
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist, Chapter 3

Slides

Color names recognized by the turtle module
Wed, Apr 17 Programming Graphics

draw-triangle.py
draw-triangle-circle.py
draw-square-loop.py
draw-square-pattern-loop.py
draw-rings.py
turtle-graphics-functions.py
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist, Chapter 4

Turtle Graphics Documentation
Week 13
Mon, Apr 22 Data Structures

list-number-filter.py
grocery-list-generator.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 7: 99–111

Slides
Wed, Apr 24 Data Structures

numbers-squared-long-form.py
numbers-squared-list-comp.py
area-calculator-list-comp.py
unicode-codes-list-comp.py
filtered-numbers-list-comp.py
filtered-numbers-long-form.py
five-ages.py
ages-18-and-above.py
ages-18-and-above-functions.py
city-temperatures.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 7: 112–119
Week 14
Mon, Apr 29 File Input and Output

list-shape-change.py
total-price-formatted.py
shopping-total.py
string-format-function.py
print-file.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 8: 121–131

Slides

frost.txt
frost.rtf
Wed, May 1 File Input and Output

replace-text.py
word-count-from-file.py
one-random-line-from-file.py
randomize-lines.py
sort-names-from-file.py
write-file.py
write-file-after-check.py
basic-text-editor.py
append-to-file.py
100-random-numbers.py
Python: Visual QuickStart Guide, Chapter 8: 132–140

frost.txt
sou.txt
sonnets.txt
names.txt
Week 15
Mon, May 6 File Input and Output/Recursion

current-weather.py
current-temp-jfk.py
web-search.py
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist, Chapter 18

Slides
Wed, May 8 Recursion

koch-curve.py
koch-snowflake.py
koch-snowflake-alt.py
cesaro-torn-line.py
cesaro-square.py
quadratic-curve.py
directory-contents.py
Week 16
Mon, May 13 Review

text-file-functions.py
tree-fractal.py
Slides