Class Progress

This page tracks the class, giving a description of the lecture, associated reading, and any homework assigned that day. Class demos will be posted here too.

Date Topics Covered Reading Demos Homework/Handouts
Tues, Sept. 2 Class basics; eclipse setup; a first program; string input and output; Chap. 1 0902 HW0 , Due Friday Sept. 5 by 11:55 PM
Thurs, Sept. 4 Variables and their sizes, positive and negative integers, base 2 arithmetic. Chap. 2 0904 HW1 , Due Thursday Sept. 11 by 11:55 PM
GradingCriteria
Tues, Sept. 9 booleans, characters and Ascii/Unicode, if and if/else statements, ternary operator Chap. 3,
part of Chap. 4
0909
Thurs, Sept. 11 nested if/else statements; switch statement; while and do/while loops; sentinels; more of Chap. 3; start Chap. 5 0911 Examples HW2 , Due Thursday Sept. 18 by 11:55 PM
Tues, Sept. 16 short-circuit evaluation; more while examples; random numbers More of Chap. 4 and 5 0915 Examples
Thurs, Sept. 18 for loops (forwards and backwards); algorithm for converting binary to decimal, String methods: charAt and length more of Chap. 4 and 5 0918 Examples
Tues, Sept. 23
Thurs, Sept. 25
Tues, Sept. 30
Thurs, Oct. 2
Tues, Oct. 7 First Test likely either this day
Thurs, Oct. 9 or this day
Tues, Oct. 14 No Class - Fall Holiday
Thurs, Oct. 16
Tues, Oct. 21
Thurs, Oct. 23
Tues, Oct. 28
Thurs, Oct. 30
Tues, Nov. 4
Thurs, Nov. 4
Tues, Nov. 11
Thurs, Nov. 13
Tues, Nov. 18
Thurs, Nov. 20
Tues, Nov. 25
Thurs, Nov. 27 Thanksgiving Holiday
Tues, Dec. 2
Thurs, Dec. 4
Tues, Dec. 9
Thurs, Dec. 11 (Last class)
Final Exam (TBA) ** 8:00-9:50 AM ** on Tuesday, Dec. 16